What a weekend!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo » Hilltop
October 24th 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well what a weekend to be in NZ!!!

After a full week in Auckland (probably a little long in a city for this country girl but absolutely worth it for the way it ended!) I topped it off with a trip to Eden Park for the bronze final of the rugby (couldn't afford the $900-plus for the actual final!). The match didn't disappoint - aside from the end result - but the atmosphere was amazing, the weather was perfect and I got some good photos to boot!

The scariest moment was soon after kick-off when Shane Williams (my favourite!) was nearly split in half by a crushing tackle. The man must be made of steel to have recovered, but recover he did to score Wales' first try! Just a shame, especially after the final 5 minutes in which Wales really came into their own, that their kicking let them down again!

So on Saturday I got a lift down to Taupo with Mark (dad's cousin - who had kindly put me up during my time in Auckland) to see dad's uncle and aunt. Saturday afternoon was fairly drab weather-wise with yet another downpour (I seem to have been living through NZ's version of the April showers although at least it's been warm!) so I reminisced with the family - looked at some very old (and rather amusing in some cases!) photos of my dad and his family. Having never met my grandfather I always love looking at these kinds of pictures (although it's terrifying how similar my big brother has looked like my dad through each stage of his life - sorry Fid!!).

Sunday was still a little overcast but relatively warm (by english standards!) so I had a wander into the town and, after a brief deliberation, booked in for a skydive the following day!! More on that shortly...

But of course the BIG news across NZ was the RWC final - and what a match!! I've seen a few things on facebook about some amazing Manchester derby or something, but honestly in comparison with things out here and the end result of the rugby, football just pales in comparison (but then again I've thought that for some years now!). Although I am short a few fingernails after the teams took it right to the wire - I was convinced NZ were going to lose it in the last 10 minutes, it was so close, until I realised this WASN'T England I was watching!! So all in all a brilliant evening of rugby - part of me wished I was back in Auckland however even watching it here in Taupo the tension was palpable!

So with the Webb-Ellis cup safely in the hands of it's rightful winners we move on to today, Monday, and THE skydive! What can I say, other than if anyone comes to Taupo this should be at the top of their to-do list! Absolutely amazing experience and surprisingly not scary at all! Just so exhilirating - I even got to steer the parachute at one point (in my opinion a potentially reckless decision by my tandem 'instructor' but he seemed relatively confident I wouldn't kill us both. Brave or stupid I'm not sure...?). An added bonus was that I met a group of really nice girls who are based in Wellington (most German with one American) so might catch up with them when I head down there.

Can't really do the skydive justice in words here but I've tried my best. Afterwards I had a more sedate afternoon, went for a walk up to Taupo's botanical gardens (very beautiful!) then down into the town by way of the beach round the lake - it being labour weekend out here, in addition to an absolutely beautiful day, there were lots of people about and I may or may not have treated myself to a big chocolate ice cream... 😉

So tomorrow it's on to Wellington where the 'real' travelling begins - hostels and buses galore. Although I have to say that, having got out of Auckland, I do feel like I'm closer to the 'real' New Zealand now!

Think that's all... and mum and dad - sorry I didn't tell you about the skydive beforehand but thought you'd sleep better not knowing til afterwards. But I stand firm in my commitment to NEVER do a bungy!!
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb