Geothermal central - Rotorua


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
April 21st 2013
Published: May 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The two German girls in my room were super noisy this morning, chatting in the room, with complete disregard at 7.30am. After an hour of this I was rather fed up, so I gave in trying to sleep and got up.

As my bus wasn’t until 4pm this afternoon, I checked out, put all my luggage in storage, and much to my surprise had a highly amusing day. I went for an amazing late breakfast at a place called Bodyfuel – salmon and poached eggs with spinach….yum! Dave and I wondered round town, and noticed there was a home and garden show on. It was a $5 ticket event but as we were walking away a lady offered us two free tickets, so we grateful accepted. This show had such an array of items on sale, a bit like an American home shopping channel on television. I could have bought I wood burner, water crystals for the garden, flooring tiles, garlic preserving salts, hand creams, garden wormeires…..the list is endless. In fact of everything, the only thing I would have bought if I had a house was the wormery. The highlight had to be when a house alarm salesman was pestering me, and said why didn’t I want one of his alarm systems for my home, was when I turned round and said ‘because I don’t have a house’. His face was a picture!

After locating a fresh juice store and purchasing my new favourite – apple, carrot, beetroot and ginger juice I head back to the hostel and chill with Alex, Dave and Pat for a while until it was time to brace the torrential rain and catch the bus.

I arrive in Rotaroa an hour and a half later, luckily in the sunshine, and locate my hostel which is super central, so very handy. I am surprised by the lack of smell, I have been warned so much about the sulphur smell here, due to the geothermal areas, but its only a discreet background smell, no more than a two on the environmental oduour monitoring smell scale!

I head out just for a wonder round this evening, despite the now torrential rain. I locate and pick up some broccoli in the massive supermarket and then navigate back to the hostel, as it is now dark and everything looks different!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb