I love eggs, but not when they're rotten and the stench is everywhere in the air...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
July 10th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the initial Zorb...After the initial Zorb...After the initial Zorb...

It's amazing how much fun it is rolling down a hill in a ball filled with (warm-yesss) water...
Rotorua, the town that is known for smelling eggy due to the sulphur. It's so strange walking through the park with parts sectioned of due to boiling hot mud or water! Looking around certain parts of the town it seems as if there are heaps of fires with all the lines of smoke rising. The hostel even had its own thermal pools (which smelt horrid) which would turn your jewellery black and possibly give you a form of meningitis if you put your head below the water!

My first activity in Rotorua was luging, zooming down a track with the force of gravity on a little cart. I think I should have braked a bit more when going round the corners some of the wheels did leave the ground, more fun this way though...although there was a very big drop and no barriers if I did skid too far...

Ian and I went to a Maori Concert and indulged in a Hangi feast. I love Maori culture, all the dancing and the whole sticking out of the tongues to be aggressive, ooo and the haka war dance which is what the New Zealand rugby team do, I love it!
The rebirth...The rebirth...The rebirth...

A born again Zorber...
The language is beautiful as well..mmm..The food there was cooked to perfection, the sweet potato was divine but no where near as good as the stuffing..mmm I ate so much but it was the evening after my white water rafting! Man, this rafting was completely different to the rafting I did in Australia. It wasn't as intense and full on as the one in Australia but it did have an extreme Grade 5 part...a seven metre waterfall! (grade 6 you cannot commercially raft, like Niagra Falls) This is the only place in the world that commercially rafts down a waterfall this height, the build up to it was great and from then on it was just holding on for dear life! Ian and I were in seperate rafts, and I'd like to mention that his flipped over and we landed perfectly..ahaha..

At long last I got the chance to go Zorbing! Man, I had been wanting to do this for ages! Arriving at the location for zorbing I was initially a bit dissapointed, only because I thought it was going to be rolling naturally down a hill, in whatever direction the ball took you. Instead there were set routes,
Smelly Rotorua...Smelly Rotorua...Smelly Rotorua...

What a pleasant welcome when you drive into this town, the wonderful eggy smell of sulpur...
straight or zig zag. My thoughts soon changed after going down the first time, it was so much fun! The first zorb Ian and I went down in one together, a Hydro Zorb which had some lovely warm water in it, causing you to slip and slide all over the place rolling straight down a big hill! It was that much fun that I was soon at the counter paying for a second go! This time I did a single hydro zorb on the zig zag track, which was heaps better. I was chucked about everywhere inside the zorb, especially when it came to the corner where you would just go bash...you just can't help laughing the whole way down and it is then very hard to take the big smile off your face after the exiting rebirth from the zorb...

Advertisement



13th July 2006

Hi from NZ
Welcome to NZ Lucy enjoy your stay sorry bout the weather! If you have time do the flying fox at gravity canyon! (.co.nz) in Taihape.
13th July 2006

Dammit
Hey looks like your having an amazing time, I wish I was still there, but can't complain, filling in all these job applications and going to interviews is fun too! ...well not compared to all the things there are in NZ to jump/be thrown off. Have a great time!
13th July 2006

Alien 3 - The Rebirth
Love the picture Lucy, reminds me of the scene in Alien when he pops out of her stomach!!! x
13th July 2006

Tena koe
haha good ol' rotorua.. im so jelous of the zorbing...i'll make my dad take me one day. Did you guys look into going up Mt Ruapehu? i take it your not in roto anymore so i guess that meens a no to Ruapehu then lol..and i just read Ians blog about falling in the water etc etc...thats exactally why i would never do rafting...its no fun being scared of deep water i tell you.. haha im so glad you done luging...now you see why i smashed into the side and flew out my cart! anyway i'll stop talking now :) ka kite ano xxxxx
13th July 2006

..
come home now, yeah?
13th July 2006

Im back!!
Nice to catch up with you Great photos I'll call you friday or saturday im not drinking ever again!! mmmmmwwwaaahhh xxx knackered pib
14th July 2006

Smelly!
Amazed ! cant get over every journal you have done something which surprises me ! probably good that I dont know some of the things until afterwards though!! Carry on having fun....but safely.....driving etc.,..... nag over, have you been turned off eggs after the smell of the place.....probably not eh! love you mum xxx
17th July 2006

pooh!!!!
Dont know if i could cope with the smell...mind you, its a bit like living with your brother!!- only joking! fab fab fab always fancied zorbing, looks brilliant. Glad your having HEAPS of fun, also noticed your new word for the day -"man"!! take care. love you. thanks for the letters..M L Z M xxxx

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb