Day Eighty Five


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We docked in Wellington. We drove for 5 hours. We slept in Taupo.

And first thing this morning, we jumped off of a 135 foot ledge.

The rain was pouring, but we were checked out of the motel at 9:00am, anyway. We walked up to the bungy check-in, thinking we would be turned away due to weather. They said we could jump, so we signed our lives away and got us set up. I didn't weigh enough, so the guy at the desk told me to run and throw on a bunch of clothes and that should do the trick. That put me at about a half a kilo below the weight requirement, and he pretty much gave us a wink and pointed us in the direction of the plank.

Sitting there waiting while they strap your ankles in was nerve-wracking for me. I started to hyperventilate when they told us to stand up and inch our way to the edge. The weight of the bungy cord hanging over the edge forces you to get closer and closer. If Jack wasn't there, I think I might have been pulled right down. Standing in the rain, they counted us off. I didn't jump. That didn't matter, though, because Jack did.

No roller coaster could ever compare to the rush. It is very different from skydiving. Because you start from a stationary ledge, you feel the speed picking up and picking up. Then the cord pulls tight, you feel those negative G's where your stomach leaves you, and then go plummeting down all over again. This goes on for a while until your eyes feel like they are bulging from your skull. They lowered us down onto a little boat to disconnect us. It was amazing. I would do it all over again, but I think I may still need to go tandem for a while until I can convince myself to jump. Jack had no problem with it! I think all of you should go find the nearest bungy and do it. Incredible. I'm so glad he made me do that!

We're in Rotorua now, and tomorrow we might be going back to Mount Maunganui to climb it one last time!


Advertisement



12th August 2008

Bungee
Ummm ... I'll make sure to bungee as soon as I get to New Zealand! Not!
12th August 2008

Crazy
My aunt and uncle are crazy! I can hardly handle sitting up and tipping over into pillows, I don't know how you jumped off a ledge! :)

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb