Skydive


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
April 15th 2007
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

KITKITKIT

Getting harnessed up for my Skydive (just checking he's done it right)
AWESOME and scary as fcuk. Words can't describe it, so I would recommend it to anyone. I can't believe how calm I was. Everynight before we had planned our skydive I was very nervous and didn't sleep much. When they were cancelled I did feel some relief. Today though when it came to the crunch I felt fine. Reading the leaflet and seeing others before us come back safely helped plus the fact my diver told me he had done 1,800 dives before helped.

You have to seriously cram into a small plane (there was 9 inc. the pilot). Your diver then attachs you up to him at about 9000 feet and then at 12,000 feet they open the door.....here we go!! Lisa went, then Helen went so there was no way I was backing out. You hang your legs under the plane, stick your chest out and head against the divers shoulder and off you go. It's all abit of a blur really from then for about 30 seconds and then the parachute comes out after 45 seconds and yanks you back up. Once the parachute came out I could properly enjoy it. Although the freefall was amazing
HKITHKITHKIT

Helen ready for Skydive
I couldn't relax until the parachute had come out succesfully. From then on you can just enjoy the views.

I won't be getting my in action shots and DVD until I'm home unfortunately, so I only have pre-dive pics at the mo.

Earlier in the day we did Zorbing. Basically you get in your trunks and in a inflatable ball and roll down a hill, but compared to the above it was tame. Still loads of fun though. Coming home soon, but really got the taste for some more fun sports. Fancy Rafting, but don't think we'll have time. Nevermind its been a blast and I've achieved something I thought I never would.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

3RTZ3RTZ
3RTZ

Three of us ready to ZORB
ZORBZORB
ZORB

Zorbing
SpoiltSpoilt
Spoilt

FAO. Derby Fans. Take your pick!! Spoilt for choice, eh.


15th April 2007

Free fall from ONLY 12,000 feet?
Wow what an experience! sounds like you had fun and it always feels good when the parachute comes out without any ripping sounds... Think Nan would prefer the zorbing to being up in the air, but she did say the glow worms sounded a little better. Hope the girls are not driving you to drink. Have a great flight home see you soon!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb