a whole new world


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
January 19th 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

view of the lake view of the lake view of the lake

what a sight to wake up to
Friday 19th today it was a glorious day and the true beauty of this place was unveiled as I stepped out onto the deck and saw the view, this place reminded me of something out of Swallows and Amazons.

We got the motor boat out of the boathouse and got it running it was such fun
zooming round the lake exploring its many different little bays and coves.

During the afternoon we go by boat to visit the Hot Pools and take a bath in the naturally hot springs. The water is very hot and a little smelly as it has high sulphur content; I am assured that it is good for me and after having been in them for a while you didn’t notice the sulphur smell at all. I was amazed at how hot the pools were. Good job you could start will a cooler one and work your way up to the hotter ones.

After lunch I went to visit Whakarewarewa (that’s a mouthful!) Village. This is a Maori village where the local Maori people live. It is also an area where there is a lot of Geo thermal activity with hot springs, pools, boiling mud and geysers. I saw how they used the hot springs to cook their food and to wash and bath in. When I return two more of Martin’s friends have arrived. We prepare dinner and have a few drinks to help the evening pass. I needed my bed all that hot water, fresh air and the combination of good food and good company has left me shattered.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb