Rotorua


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
November 25th 2006
Published: December 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!
Sorry I havent updated my blog lately but unfortunately I lost my usb pen which had all my recent stuff on in Rotorua. So sorry.
Anyway despite that i found rotorua my favourite place so far. Rotorua is its name as it is Maori for 'smelly place' as it is on an active volcano and has hundreds of natural hot pools and Mud pools smell nasty! But still there really cool. They gurgle as though they're about to erupt. After a brief exploration of the city of only 26,000, I went Mountain biking in the 'Redwoods Forest' well known to have the best mountain biking in NZ. It was amazing and I would really like to go back there! The redwood trees are massive and the scenery is special but most of all the tracks are 'extreme' I loved it despite being abit dangerous at times even as I weas only on the grade 3 tracks. While I was there I also managed to go White water rafting for the first time which was brilliant! It gave me such a buzz! Although the trip was fairly short we rode through 3 waterfalls and one as high as 7metres high! it exhilirating and I definately do it again. Rotorua is also home to the invention of Zorbing - roling down a hill in a plastic ball trying to keep on your feet while inside it (where it had about 3 litres of water in), an activity with good laughs with friends. Next we all were driven to the gondola ( a hill overlooking the city) where we did 'luging' and form of bobsled but a one man bobsled with wheels. That was really cool and fun as you could get up to some fast speeds.

Next I hoped onto the bus to a little place called Waitomo just outside Rotorua. Waitomo is famous for its Glow worm Caves and its cool rock formations underground. It was also a big place for 'extreme' activities. I went on an activity known as the Black abyss which was a full days trip of about 5 hours where we first abseiled down a vertical hole in the ground which opened out into a big cave. We then did a flying fox in the dark deeper underground to view the amazing glow worms which kinda looked like blue stars in the sky. We then went black water rafting which involved floating in the dark in rubber dingees facing small rapids still in the caves. Next we went pot holing/caving which used to be abit of a fear of mine but it weas great crawling through these minnute gaps in the rocks to get out the other side. Lastly we came out of the caves by climbing a series of running waterfalls which were the best part of the trip in my opinion! You had to be careful where you put your feet especially with the drop down but it was safe enough and a good day out.


Advertisement



15th December 2006

Better than working for a living
Hi Ben It sounds like your having a fantastic time. Some of the pictures from your earlier blogs are great. Can't wait to hear all of your stories over a beer and a game of Pro Evo. I hope you realise that since you've been away i've been practising so you won't be able to get near me when you get back ;-) Off on my work's xmas party now - see you soon bud.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.8kb