A Canadian in New Zealand - Day 9 - Kerikeri, Stone Store, Kerikeri Riverside Walk, Rainbow Falls, Wharepuke Falls, 90 Mile Beach


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland » Kaitaia
April 8th 2016
Published: April 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Kaitaia today to visit the 90 mile beach and parts north to the tip of the North Island - Cape Reinga. On my way I dropped by Kerikeri to see a few sights. One of them was the Stone Store, open for business since 1836 and it is New Zealand's oldest stone building and the oldest store. You can buy the Jews harp or the pen quill and many things in between. An interesting visit. Situated nearby was the Kerikeri Riverside Walk and access to two waterfalls - Rainbow Falls and Wharepuke Falls. The latter could be reached by a gentle, 20 minute hike, one way. For the other you could basically drive and needed to hike only if you wanted to see the base of the falls as well. Following the falls, after a quick stop to see a "beach of opportunity", I arrived at Kaitaia around 3 PM just in time to purchase my ticket for the bus ride along the 90 mile beach to Cape Reinga the following day. Since I was close to this famous beach, I drove to Ahipara, the recognized start of the beach, for my first glimpse. Indeed it looks like a very long beach! Tomorrow is what I expect to be one of the highlights of my trip - a tour via Harrisons Cape Runner to Cape Reinga.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb