Top of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Ninety Mile Beach
August 18th 2010
Published: August 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Entering BeachEntering BeachEntering Beach

Bus turning into 90 Mile beach
Today was the last of the touristy things I'll do on this holiday. I took the tour up to Cape Reinga the very northern tip of the country. The best part was driving along the 90-Mile Beach. Actually it is made of two beaches and the main one was 64 miles (104 kilometres) and that is where our bus traveled. Beautiful! I wish I had my own car...not my real one, but a decent one to rent. You have to make sure you go during low tide, otherwise you might be swept out to sea or the car could be buried in wet sand.
We stopped to sand surf. Funny...I didn't really care what was involved in this bus trip as long as I got to the top and drove along the '90 mile beach'. Who knew I'd be boogybording down giant sand dunes. Hell of a hike up, and make sure you do not smile or laugh on the way down otherwise you eat a lot of sand.
The weather was changeable...sun, rain, sun, hail, sun, cold wind, run, more rain and hail. I got soaked returning from the lighthouse at Cape Reinga. This is a sacred space for the
NorthNorthNorth

We turned north to drive along the beach
Maori. They believe that souls come here to leap off of Earth and fly to heaven. There is a sacred tree, this one living tree amongst the rocks and waves, where Maori believe that souls climb and make the big leap towards heaven.
The walkway towards the Cape has a short tunnel with flute music to welcome visitors. When you see the tree and the steep cliffs and the raging meeting of the Tasmanian Sea with the Pacific Sea, you begin to feel the energy here.
We went to local museum about gum digging which was interesting but I didn't want to be outside to listen to the history. I took photos so I'd remember later.
Then we went to very overpriced art gallery where wood turners create furniture and art from 50,000 year old trees that were buried in what they think was a giant tidal wave.
Finally we went to fish and chip shop (think bowl of chowder is $17, and you know the type). All in all, a good trip with interesting people on the bus and a cheerful tourguide. It was nice to sit back and watch the scenery change and not drive on the tricky
Don't Get StuckDon't Get StuckDon't Get Stuck

Here we go! We slow down for the fresh water streams that crossed the beaches, otherwise we were flat out
roads.
The trip was 11 hours, but you can do it in 6 or 7 in your own car.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

WowWow
Wow

Wish I was driving a really fast car here
ClamsClams
Clams

We stopped several times, twice to search for clams (forget their name for it)
We got severalWe got several
We got several

Crap, the water was cold on the toes! But we did find several
EvidenceEvidence
Evidence

One clam was a rare type, so we decided to put them all back (not enough for a meal for one)
Blue JellyfishBlue Jellyfish
Blue Jellyfish

Pretty, but do not touch
TracksTracks
Tracks

There were several tour buses racing along the beach
Giant Sand DunesGiant Sand Dunes
Giant Sand Dunes

The adventure begins. Take everything out of your pockets if you intend to boogyboard down these dunes.
ClimbClimb
Climb

You lost me at 'climb slowly up giant dunes'
Body WeightBody Weight
Body Weight

Trick is to keep hips at the back of board and never let go of the front. Otherwise you'll spill and sand will go everywheres....
Here I goHere I go
Here I go

All the way up I'm thinking 'what the hell!?'
HeeeeHaaaawHeeeeHaaaaw
HeeeeHaaaaw

Yup, that's me....and I didn't fall off!
At the topAt the top
At the top

Beach towards Tasmanian Sea
Sacred SpaceSacred Space
Sacred Space

Flute music plays when you pass through
LandscapeLandscape
Landscape

Beautiful, eh?
Sacred TreeSacred Tree
Sacred Tree

Can you see it? Clinging to rocky outcrop


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb