Sunshine & Wine - Then Wellington & Gollum


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Napier
December 10th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

From Kaikoura I went to Blenheim, the wine region. It was a scorching day and the sky was soooooo blue, it looked like it had been photoshopd! Went straight to i-site and booked a 3/4 day wine, distillery and oils/preserves day.....oh dear.

So drop bags at place I'm staying that is actually a vineyard and they accept guests, so had a glass of wine (should mention here due to band had so far that day eaten soap on route, a biscuit/cookie and had 3 cups of chai latte), then guide picks me up....he had the complexion of a man who likes his wines and soon we were off. Picked up an Irish guy travelling around who knew alot about wine, it was then I had a feeling that I was going to dissappoint/embaress my mother and let the side down with my lack of wine knowledge!

Started out I told him I really only like red wine, he said "oh dear, you do know you're in white wine growing country here" I replied "of course, just wanted to make conversation....." doh! So started at first place, I stayed back and thought I would follow the Irish guy, he then stopped to talk to some big breasted blonde back packers outside and I was ushered in! Went upto lady in posh wine tasting area and then whispered "I have no idea what I'm doing!" lol She was fantastic, showed me how to hold, swill, count the ...legs/trees/stems...oh bother I can't remember...anyway, she showed me how to do it and said don't spit as it takes practise, just swallow. Great advise to save wine dribbling down chin, but impractical on an empty stomach, hot day and I was swaying after 5 tasting/cellar door trips, tasted about 4 wines in each (I'm such a cheap date!!...have just remembered anyone can read this on the net! HAHAHA)

So, the wine marathon continued, then we hit a distillery and tried liquors, schnapps and other delectable sweet things, went to olive oil shop and then more cellar doors. My favourite was Fromm, I bought a bottle of red to share with Ma over xmas, they are Swiss and have a wooden cat "cellar cat" that is tradition from Switzerland, it sits on your most prosperous barrel/cask and keeps it safe.

At about 18:00 the driver was going to drop me back to lodgings,but I had nothing to do there and no dinner. I was too intoxicated to drive anywhere. So this amazing man on a Sunday evening took me to a take away cafe, I got a grilled chicken salad, bottle of water and he dropped me off at the most beautiful black sanded beach - Couldy Bay (famous NZ wine). He booked a taxi to pick me up in 3 hours. I sat there watching the mountains changing colour, local people walk their dogs, I read my book, ate my salad, walked along beach and cleared my head, it was a lovely day! Taxi back to accomodation, she asked if I would like a nightcap of their home wine, I almost screamed "no!!" but kindly declined.

Up far too early next day with hang over and a ferry trip to the North Island! Left Steely Dan (the car) at Picton =( and lugged my 3 bags into ferry terminal, boarded ferry and sat at front inside, drank water, read my book and did nto move a muscle, my head pounded too much! (stop your laughing you sods!)
Got to Wellington, picked up Steely Dans twin brother, headed into the Capital....yep, you guessed it, got lost! Found hotel in the end, checked in, wandered around city and bought a new book, chai latte and then went to cinema and saw chick xmas flick 'Four Holidays'. Walked back to hotel late at night and wasn't scared like Christchurch, it had a mroe friendly feeling than other cities.

Went on.....wait for it, a whole day Lord Of The Rings location tour!! Saw loads of film location sites, studios and prop/design/everything company Weta and their shop. Had awesome day and got to be a complete movie nerd, not just about LOTR but all kinds of films, it was great. Went back to hotel, crashed as did so much walking and left this morning.

Now in Napier, only got lost twice getting here so not doing too bad. Lovely Art Deco period city, staying in phenomonal house with huge garden and a friendly host, plus a work experience French guy who we helped with his English most of night. Off to Gannett colony tour tmrw, so expect photos of birds to be added at a later date. Off to bed with a chai latte of course!

Missing EVERYONE!! Em is organising a 'Welcome Home/New years bash' at mine, gave her all your numbers =) xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.1kb