Down Under and Slightly to the Side!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hamilton
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Up to the moment I was standing in line for customs and the biosecurity check I was sure something would go terribly wrong and I was going to be sent back on the next flight to the US. But then I walked out the airport security gates and there Fern was waiting for me! Soon we were driving through the most beautiful green hills I’ve ever seen! Peter Jackson wasn’t just being patriotic when he chose to film The Lord of the Rings movies here! I really do think we were driving through Middle Earth!

After some breakfast and a wee short nap Fern and I headed off to Waikato where she goes to school. This also being the school I was going to be studying at for my semester abroad, I recognized a lot of it from picture I’d seen. We got some sushi for lunch and toured the campus before Fern made her way into the library to study for an upcoming test. So, on my own to navigate my way home and become acquainted with the local bus system I tried my luck at challenging my directionally challenge-ness. I got to the bus stop and I managed to figure out how to scan the bus card without looking like an ignorant tourist. I was keeping a close eye on the monitor that said what the next stop would be when a massive heard of gangly teenage boys in school uniforms piled on. The bus was so packed with cracking voices, knuckle sandwiches, and maroon and gray knee socks that that the monitor was now hopelessly out of sight. So I made my best guess and squeezed my way off when we passed a promising looking street sign. With only the name of the next street I was looking for to get me home I assured myself that I could always rely on the kindness of strangers to point me in the right direction. I must have a streak of that male ‘I’m not going to ask for directions’ handicap because I wondered around for a good hour before finding the street I was looking for. On the up side though, I did get a lot more familiar with the area. And after all, didn’t I come here to explore and hike? Who says hiking can’t be done in an urban or suburban setting?

Once I got home I finally got to take a shower and cracked open the New Zealand on a Budget book. Fern came home a little while later, we made some dinner, and settled down for a pirated viewing of the latest Glee episode. Having kicked jet lag’s butt all day we called it an early night and went to bed. I can’t believe what a short week it’s been. Monday was a holiday, Tuesday was spent in airports, I skipped Wednesday all together, got here on Thursday, and now it’s Friday! I’m still overwhelmed and thrilled and awed by everything and although I’m undeniably, actually here now it still doesn’t quite feel real.

Okay, that’s it for the update now. More to come soon! 😊


Advertisement



20th October 2010

hey!!
Well im glad you are able to still catch glee ....( its the highlight of my life) I loved the way you creeped on the card scanner , "when in Rome ... Look as much like a Roman as possible" Man it would be so nice to get lost physically instead of mentally for a change!! Im glad your enjoying yourself :)

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb