Lazy Days , version 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Waihi
November 18th 2018
Published: November 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

16th November

Woke up at 7.15, needed to be off site by 8am. Shoved some cereal down my thought, got dressed, packed the van up. No time for a cuppa.

Head in to town, first things first, NEED coffee. Will anywhere be open, it is still only 7.50. I spy a bakery with tables out on the pavement, park up and get a LARGE flat white. I sit an the table outside watching the world go by as I sip it. After about 30 minutes, I begin to feel awake.

I really have no idea what to do with my day. I have a walk through town, pick up a few supplies and get back to the van. I have a look through the brochures and maps and decide on Waihi. There is a walk around an old mine.

I get there have a look around the town an read up on a few bits about the history of gold mining and head for the information centre to find out where the walk starts and roughly how long it will take. I am a little wary about overdoing things after my hypo mid walk the other day. I have a look around the display at the museum, which took a bout an hour and decode on lunch before so I tackle the walk.

After lunch I decide to forgo the walk after all, as I still feel exhausted, it must be all this fresh air. I get in the van and head towards Waihi Beach, park up, set my chair up and get my book out.

I while away a couple of hours and head to the nearby campsite. Set my van up and have a cuppa and a bite to eat and walk along the beach.

I saw this guy on the beach earlier and I wondered what he was up to as he had a flags flying from his quad bike, so I had a chat when I got to him. He was fishing, he has a little remote control submersible which he attaches the line to which has a load of baited hooks and it takes the line out to sea. They seem to take the fishing quite seriously hear. As I walk further along the beach I spot a family with a similar set up fishing as well.

The sun is starting to set, so head back to the van for the night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb