Panuanui New Zealand Jan 19 & 20, 2010


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My luggage finally was delivered and I had my true test driving on the left hand side of the road with our drive to Pauanui on the Coromandel Peninsula. At about half way point the road took us into the mountains, narrow very windy, up and down with many turns and no shoulders plus a steady stream of traffic coming the other way. We are staying at the Grand Mecure Puka Park resort in a chalet within the forest. Upon our arrival we setoff for a walk to and along the beach, a long sandy beach with breaking surf and mountain islands out to sea. Our walk back took a little longer since our resort is on the side of the mountain and the climb up was a little breath-taking. On the 20th we ventured forth to see more of Pauanui, discovering very quickly just how small the town was, beautiful beach lots of expensive homes and well laid out streets but minimal facilities in terms of restaurants, grocery stores etc. We also discovered that it is wise to be aware of the sun, no burn but came close.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pauanui BeachPauanui Beach
Pauanui Beach

These birds are on the protected list. They poke the long beak into the sand looking for food.
Mom & Dad + ChicksMom & Dad + Chicks
Mom & Dad + Chicks

I accidentally walked too close to the chicks and the parents threatened to attack me


12th March 2010

I have heard such wonderful things about New Zealand and of course the World Tour gave a small flavour. It is certainly on my Bucket List. Your pictures look phenomenal. I guess we all have to worry about our "Mother Hens." Still counting punch buggies Mare. I think I would win with the number I've seen here in Arizona.

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb