Getting my Roll On.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
November 14th 2009
Published: November 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Falls in Wentworth Valley.Falls in Wentworth Valley.Falls in Wentworth Valley.

Uh, The New Zealand version of Wentworth Valley.
Did you know that they only have roll-on deodorant in New Zealand? I have been searching for a regular stick for over a week now and have found nothing. I finally caved and bought some roll-on this week but I am not happy about it.

LA and I spent the last 5 days in a Tourist/Surf town called Whangamata that is located on the Cormandel Peninsula on the East Coast of NZ. We had spent a couple days in Auckland last weekend(which is a massive and pretty cool city by the way) before heading down the Coast. We had plans of doing some surfing this week but the conditions were junk, so we spent our days doing other things on the Peninsula. We also worked out a deal where we could stay for free at a campground in exchange for an hour or two of work... The offer was too good to pass up.

We went snorkelling at a place called Gemstone Bay earlier in the week and saw a pretty huge stingray resting on the sand underneath us. I had visions of me getting Steve Irwin'd so I didn't stay for too long - but it was very
Wentworth Valley Falls.Wentworth Valley Falls.Wentworth Valley Falls.

A 30 min. hike from our Campsite in Whangamata.
cool nonetheless. There was all sorts of other fish swimming around us too. We did the short hike to Cathedral Bay that afternoon to one of the nicer beaches in the area. I can't upload any pictures at the moment as I'm typing this in a small campground office, but I'll throw them up when I get a chance. It was a pretty amazing spot.

Some other highlights from the week were a 10K hike through a rainforest type area and an afternoon at a place called Hot Water Beach, where everyone digs holes in the sand when the tide goes out and the water that fills them up is on fire. I'm talking boiling in some places. We were lucky enough (I guess) to have one of the hottest spots, which meant that we had lots of people stop and look/take pictures... but it was also too steamy to sit in for very long.

We arrived in our latest destination - Tauranga - yesterday afternoon and will probably stay here for the next little while. We're going to try and get some work in the city and the place we're staying at seems very nice. We're the
Gemstone Bay.Gemstone Bay.Gemstone Bay.

Pre-Snorkeling.
youngest people here by about 35 years and they play contemporary listening in the bathroom. It's great. Although I had to double check that we weren't posted up at a nursing home when we first arrived.

Anyways, Beatrice and the Girls have challenged me to a game of Bridge so I must run! Later!






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Cathedral Cove.Cathedral Cove.
Cathedral Cove.

How it got it's name I'm assuming.
More Cathedral Cove. More Cathedral Cove.
More Cathedral Cove.

The nicest beach I've seen so far.
Cathedral.Cathedral.
Cathedral.

More limestone at the Cove.
BillyGoat Basin Hike.BillyGoat Basin Hike.
BillyGoat Basin Hike.

One of the many suspension bridges during our hike.
Hot Water Beach.Hot Water Beach.
Hot Water Beach.

Getting a tub ready at Hot Water Beach.
Tauraunga. Tauraunga.
Tauraunga.

Our home for the next few weeks in Tauraunga.


15th November 2009

Ok,
even without the pictures, it's a good story!!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb