What is nap in Maori?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
February 25th 2006
Published: February 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends! It has been another lazy lovely day here in sunny NZ. Woke up, had coffee and breakfast, went to the market, came home, read, had lunch, read some more. I had all these plans for things I was going to do while I was here, but really it isn't possible. Mom said that every country they have been to so far on this trip has had siesta (nap in the middle of the day) except NZ, and they ought to have it here too! It is so warm in the afternoon: clear sunny skies, light cool breezes, the gentle rocking of the boat - it is a perfect recipie for naps!

I am trying to be more solid about my chanting. I did a half hour this morning and it was like pulling a trainload of concrete up hill in bare feet. But as I went along it got easier, and I certinally felt better.

Mom loves the blog idea and may start one for herself.

The negotiations with the house are going along fine and hopefully will be sealed this weekend! G has been so great about taking care of things in my absence.

One thing I have really learned on this trip, is how valuable it is to spent time with the people you came from! I am so much like my mom! I always thought I wasn't, but it is now abundantly clear to me that we are actually very very similar! It is wonderful knowledge and helps me very much with knowing who I am in the world, how I am percieved, and what I can do to make my relationships closer, more loving and respectful.

Okay, enough for now...nap time!

Oh, we will likely be sailing out to the Bay of Islands either tomorrow or the next day, so I may be incommunicado for a bit...

This is the marina we are at: http://www.opuamarina.co.nz/


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Milk at the marketMilk at the market
Milk at the market

One thing I love about other places is the seemingly normal every day stuff that is just different enough to be odd. Here is a huge selection of different types of milk in unusual bottles. NZ, like England, has fantasticly yummy, fresh, and varied dairy products.
Need a trim?Need a trim?
Need a trim?

This is on unused rails right behind the bathrooms at the marina. This woman comes every saturday morning and for $15 NZ (about ten bucks) you can get your haircut! She had a line of customers all day. The little girl on the right wanted her hair cut so bad!
SignageSignage
Signage

These are typical road signs in NZ - the usual (to me) symbols plus the fact that we are going 70-100kmp on the WRONG side of the road (or so says my instincts) makes it rather nerve wracking to be driving!!!
Bathrooms are your best friend!Bathrooms are your best friend!
Bathrooms are your best friend!

We can't use the head, as its called, on the boat while it is at dock, so we have to walk up to the bathrooms at the marina. I previously had no idea how much I used the bathroom! These also have lovely hot showers too.
Back to the boatBack to the boat
Back to the boat

Mom! Waving as we walk back to the boat from the bathrooms.
The dockThe dock
The dock

Down the dock and nearly to the end is where Mom&Brian's boat is.
Sunset at the marinaSunset at the marina
Sunset at the marina

This was the view last night from the boat. The sun sets behind the hills, and reflects in lovely ways off the sky and water. Its a hard knock life!


27th February 2006

Funny stuff
Y - I love your pics of the milk and the lady cutting hair. Traveling is such a wonderful way to realize that our way of being and living may be strange to others. Your mum's world looks amazing!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb