A fond farewell to the long hot summer


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The sun sets on another day in the bay and I take full advantage of the work computer, I realise it has been quite some time since i last wrote. I am moving on tomorrow to make my journey to Queenstown for the winter, so am long overdue.

So as the sirens sound for yet another fire panicing many a tourist, the Queen sailed into town, I sadly turn 27, edging ever closer to 30. My favourite girl visits from home, and subsequently leaves again, my kiwi whanau grows and i continue to get quite attached to my adoptive family. My gorgeous 'real' parents arrive, fall in love with the bay and become part of the furniture. and achieved more sight seeing than iIhave done to date!

We constantly prop up the one hostel bar claiming to be locals, and strangley become used to the 1am closing rule. (great for actualy making it to work the next morning) I have since fallen in love with the old violin busker who should belong in a steven king film, and have spent many a day re-working routes around the 4 streets in this town to avoid those i've had a few run in's with.... Small towns suck for hiding! I have jet ski'd for the first time with 3 metre swells, had a full on maori experience with the chaos of Waitangi Day, and become quite fond of the chiwowa's that once drove me crazy. I cut all my hair off for the first time in 15 years, and friends made in Toronto turn up on my doorstep and the Orcas in the bay make headlines with their marine massacre!!:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/earthnews/7532131/Killer-whale-attacks-dolphin-in-front-of-tourists.html

So as my boss decides that he needs a full time receptionist to see them through the winter I start to reflect on my time here. I never thought i'd survive living in such a small town, but it has had its charms as well as it's frustrations. I have been so fortunate with so many visitors from home, it has probably made the homesickness a little more intense than it needed to be at times, and with moving on tomorrow, all that has subsided for a nervous panic about starting all over again. Is this enough to keep me in this small town as the sleepy winter kicks in? No. Although i have settled here nicely, settling is not in the nature of travelling, and moving forwards must happen. As my dad said to me recently in his usual wise manner, "the world is yours to take or leave as you see fit. nothing is unobtainable." I need to keep taking it, otherwise i may as well jump on the return flight now.

Now hitting my 6 month mark, I have learnt more already than i probably realise. I am truly grateful for my friends and family back home, who with one phone call or e mail keep me grounded and provide so much love and support without realising it. I miss them, but know I will be home before I know it. I have learnt my seasickness is not tied to childhood and should not go on boats without the consequences. I have also learnt I actually like my own space and company. My back bone is growing stronger every day, although some may disagree this is a good thing! Feeling like so many have already shared my experience with me by visiting, I breathe away the panic and hope to write soon with stories of my new job and town. I am so excited to be going back to queenstown, but hope i can manage to stay out of rehab and keep all my bones intact! Although an exterior limb is preferred if at all possible please!



Additional photos below
Photos: 149, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb