Weekend Trip to Bay of Islands


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, now I'll try to blog something in English... it's really hard for me so don't laugh if I'm wrong!!!
This weekend I went to Bay of Islands departing from Auckland on Friday... our first impression during the bus trip was: Really, really shitty weather! It was really frustrating to realize that the weather was so bad. We arrived Paihia when it almost was evening. My first step on Paihia's Ground was very depressing, we couldn't see anything... it was just to stormy and rainy... the water was deep brown. I was just thinking about the 265$ I paid for that trip (*cryyy*).

On Saturday we were supposed to go to Cape Reinga and 90 mile beach with another organisation... so we had to wake up at 6:00 am.
Guess what! The tour was cancelled because of the weather ... but they gave us our 65$ back, so that was ok! But I really wanted to go there! I'm planning to go there again with two classmates. Instead of that we went to a winery and a chocolate factory... really interesting (ha!ha!) and also we went to the Waitangi Treaty grounds... but it was so slippery that I felt down (auch!). So it wasn't a good day for me... after dinner we went to a pub to have a few beers... but we had to go back to the backpackers because one of the girls started to feel very bad... and at 3:30 am it was so bad that we had to call 111!!! I spent a really exhausting night with her at the Hospital.

But now I'm going to tell ya the best thing of the trip, no, it's not ironic. On Sunday we went Sailing and we saw some really breathtaking landscapes. I don't know how, but the weather changed to be a very sunny and lovely day. We saw dolphins and we went to an island and we did kayaking... i really enjoyed it and I'm sure I'll go back to the Bay of Islands while I'm here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb