Blowing chunks into the Pacific Ocean!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
December 22nd 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had a really lazy morning in the sun, just chilling and enjoying the campsite which is right beside the waitangi river, we have been feeding the ducks here and this morning we peeled back our curtains to find that they were all waiting outside for their brekkie!

The sun was shining, and as we had 4 hours to kill before our fishing trip we decided to check out the local skydiving place. We arrived at the office which was at the end of an old dusty track to find not a sole in sight, just the office which was a shed made out of corregated iron, and a really old cessna plane, so we did a sharp turn and wheel spun out of there. Now you may think that we were just being chicken...but trust me, the shed looked more reliable than the aeroplane!

With a few hours to kill we spent them on the beach, and then did a wee bit of chrissy shopping, in the boutiques along the waterfront.....big g got a pair of trainers, and I picked up a bit of fancy art for our bog back home!

The fishing was brilliant fun, well for me any way...the boat was not to glamourous and the skipper was a real sea dog, with the beard, ruddy cheeks and lots of missing teeth who was originally from Yorkshire, his first mate was a Mauri, who was the double of the original huggy bear!!! Now although it has been a cracking day weather wise, the sea was really really choppy... the waves were crashing over the side of the boat at points and I nearly fell over the side a few times...my knees are black and blue...but it was all worth it as I have just finished my dinner, mmm mmm a red snapper caught by me !!!

Graham was landing the fish, really easily, all snapper and a baby king fish, but the ministry of fishing is strict on size over here and they all had to get returned to the ocean, but he landed 6 in all, but this was in between trips to the loo as he did not find his sea legs and was the first of a few folks on board to bring his lunch up!!

Goodness knows how, as it was really rough today, but I suffered no sea sickness although as I write I still feel as if i am moving. It took me a while to land fish and I noticed that it was when Eddie the Mauri, baited me up ( with pilchards ) was when I landed the fish. Graham thought my technique was weird, but its the only way I felt stable, but you will see from the pics to follow that I kept my rod beetwen my legs, and kinda rode it like those horseheads on sticks, then thrusted my hips forward and locked my knees on the underside of the boat, not very flattering but it worked!

I caught 4 snapper and was the first to catch a 'keeper', which we took to the chippy that I mentioned the previous night. They actually laughed at how wee it was, but I was proud and it tastied delicious knowing that i had pulled it from the sea.

Poor Graham is sick of the sight of fish and went for a pizza instead.

So its our last night in the van before heading back to Auckland for christmas....watch this space as we will be uploading the pictures very soon x



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb