Piha paradise


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Waitakere Ranges
January 28th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friday morning myself, Laura and Yvette (two Spanish girls that live at the hostel on Waiheke) left Waiheke for the weekend and headed to Piha, a small surf town about an hour west of Auckland on the Tasman sea. We rented a car and took our shitty map and headed for Piha. First let me introduce and navigators; Laura who speaks zero English and Yvette who speaks very little English. Second they drive on the left onside of the road in New Zealand. In hindsight I should have looked at the map before leaving Auckland, but it was much more exciting letting two girls who can't read English lead the way. We drove about an hour north which didn't make a lot of sense since Piha is west of Auckland, at this point directions to turn left were yelled at me a spanish/english as I was in the middle of the intersection. I quickly turned on my indicators which were actually my windshield wipers and proceed to turn left into the right lane which I drove in until a car coming the opposite direction alerted me of my error. At this point a pulled the car over and had a confusing agreement with my navigators. After consulting our map we were able find our way onto the correct road and made it to Piha.
Driving down the hill into Piha my anger quick disappears as I see the beautiful beach and park landscape. Piha is surround by parks, which help keep it from becoming too developed. Piha doesn't have a gas station and the only places to eat is RSA (Returned and Services' Association) and a small take away on the beach. But Piha's big draw is its awesome surfing and most of the people who live there are surfers. Unfortunately the surf is very danger, many people have died surfing at this beach and this is why I chose not to make Piha my first and last surfing experience. We went to a couple neighbouring beaches, which were just as beautiful and all had black sand. We also went to a very cool waterfall a short walk from the road. After a long day of exploring we head for our hostel. This place is awesome, it is a house which the family has decide to convert into a hostel it has huge bunk bed, a big kitchen, about six big couches and a huge deck with a big BBQ. Naturally we had a BBQ and we were the only ones there.
Sadly we left the next day and headed back to Waiheke, but I'm going to return after a learn to surf so I can true enjoy this little piece of paradise.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The KitchenThe Kitchen
The Kitchen

I would make a joke about women being in the kitchen, but it's too easy


10th February 2006

...
Ian, nice work buddy. Glad you haven't been deported yet for bringing corruption to that beautiful island. - Sounds like you are having a good time, looks like you are having a good time. - Now get to business and send me an email with all the bonus material... enough of the tourism and shit... I want to know about spanish women and all the crazy southern hemisphere activities.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb