Waiheke Day 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Waiheke Island
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day two on Waiheke Island. Pretty much the same deal to the start of the day as the last couple. I got up a little bit later this time, around 8am and headed to the beach for a morning swim, this seems to be coming a bit of a ritual on the Island for me. But it is great at that time of the morning, no one is about and the beach and the sea are all mine, as you should be able to see by the first picture on this post.

It was our friends Kev and Gavin's birthday today so the majority all went up to Stoneyridge vineyard for a spot of lunch. Again the food was superb, Emma and me shared a plate of food which had oysters, paté, olives (starting to like these now) and some brie. I also had quite a few glasses of wine, again something I have never really enjoyed but I am making sure this trip is about experiencing everything everywhere has to offer. So olives and wine seem to be as good a start as ever.

While at Stoneyridge, we got the news through about the Christchurch earthquake. It would not feel right to not have something on my blog about it, nor pay tribute to my friend's Laura and Macky who have directly suffered as a consequence of it. My thoughts are with them and I hope they get back on their feet as soon as they possibly can.

More to follow....


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb