I could not forget Devonport


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Devonport
March 14th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I pretty much have been working every weekend since I came back from my holiday to the South Island. No real surprises there! I have not been doing much with my days off during the week as hubby has been busy with a paper he is working on and well we are trying to save a little bit now. Well last Thursday the weather was great so I took the opportunity to head to Devonport as I actually had not checked it out as yet and well I could not forget Devonport. It is only a 12 minute ferry ride away!

I had the usual guided walk from a leaflet that I had picked up from the tourist information office in Auckland. My walk started along the waterfront, along King Edward Parade past the Devonport Yacht Club and up to the top of Northhead. Along the way I enjoyed a visit to the gallery 'Art by the Sea'. The views from Northhead to the city were really stunning. It was lovely and sunny and very windy and unfortunately I did not bring a picnic lunch! I had the added bonus of getting to watch one of the races from the Louis Vuitton Cup! I would have stayed even longer but unfortunately I had the walk ahead of me and needed to find lunch somewhere.

I continued my walk along Cheltenham beach. I think I had the pleasure to view this beach mid week as it was very quiet and peaceful. It is not a beautiful sandy beach as such but it has a great view of Rangitoto Island that makes up for it and it is a great space for swimming. Mount Victoria was my next destination which maintained the beautiful views around before heading down to the shops and finally lunch!

Needless to say I am now a fan of watching the sailing and have been keeping myself updated with it. I even got an autograph from Paul Cayard when we went for a walk by the Viaduct Harbour!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

City viewCity view
City view

North Head
RangitotoRangitoto
Rangitoto

Mount Victoria


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb