Down Under... New Zealand Day One


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Devonport
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunday afternoon, my journey “Down Under” begins in Miami on a full American Airlines flight to Los Angeles. Today the weather in South Florida is a big news items as temperatures are in the 50's and this maybe an omen for what lies ahead in my journey.

My flight is late leaving Miami. En route to Los Angeles we have a medical emergency and make an unscheduled stop in Phoenix, Arizona. Under overcast skies we touchdown in LA about 8 hours after leaving Miami.

I stroll around LAX and have dinner at The International Terminal (5) as I have about a two and a half hour wait before my flight to Sydney. Tonight apparently there are hundreds maybe even thousands of people with same plans as I have to go “Down Under” because the flights to Sydney are all overbooked! Unfortunately, I miss my first opportunity to board a flight to Sydney. My next chance will be on Monday Night … 24 hours from now.

As one door closes another one opens. With 24 hours to lose some money.... the glamor and glitter of Las Vegas is calling.

After helping the recession in Las Vegas, I am back in Los Angeles and soon find myself in a middle coach seat for a 14 hour flight to Sydney. A movie, dinner, a nap, a snack, The Simpsons, Family Guy, in flight hiking, a nap, Black Jack, breakfast then Two and a Half Men … wow how time flies!

With the rising sun we begin our descent for Sydney. Soon the east coast of Australia appears under sparkling sunlight. We firmly touchdown at 6:55am....It's Wednesday.

I easily follow signs to “The International Transfer Desk” where with a ticket exchange I get a boarding pass for “The Land Of The Kiwis”.

A sampling of “Aussie” cuisine has me eating Cinnamon Rice With Chicken along with Banana Bread. Interesting and delicious but I must say I have had Banana Bread that would be stiff competition.

Doing some research while waiting for my flight to Auckland, I discover a great opportunity for rental cars in New Zealand. There are seasonal relocation specials from Christchurch (CHC) to Auckland (AKL) or other cities for as little NZ$15 per day with 6 days minimum. This is an awesome deal …Unfortunately, I missed the boat on that one.

9:35am … I board Qantas-55 to Auckland. This time a window seat provides a few photo ops as we head north to New Zealand. I don't know if I am hallucinating from my lengthy travel or if its their accents but I am taken back by the politeness and courtesy of “The Cabin Crew”. “Please Stow Your Cabin Luggage”... “Please Be Careful Eating Your Ice Cream As It Has Been Stored On Dry Ice”. A pleasant surprise for airline service.

New Zealand is two hours ahead of Sydney and this time its an even firmer touchdown at 2:25pm but still Wednesday.

NEW ZEALAND - DAY ONE

Clearing customs and immigration is easy and after purchasing a NZ$14 backpacker ticket I am on the way to Auckland City Center. A 45 minute ride in which I exchange political and cultural views with
a local while getting some great sightseeing tips.

Like South Florida which I left 4 days ago, the weather here is also a news item. A bit “brisk” for this time of the year …. 13C in the 50's as I disembark on Queens Street.

Exhausted but excited to be in “The Land Of The Kiwis”, I take a quick survey of the city and begin a walkabout in search of quiet accommodations for the night. There are many backpacking hostels available from NZ$19-50 (dorm-single) but I end up at City Lodge (150 Vincent St) NZ$68 with private bath.

An afternoon bus ride NZ$.50 and I do some more exploring and planning for tomorrow. A visit to Food Town a 24hr grocery store and I get a sampling of everyday Kiwi life. NZ$1.25 seems a bit high for a Kit-Kat on sale... I pass and settle for Golden Kiwis and a mix bag of fresh baked goods.

A stroll from Food Town and I am along the waterfront where tomorrow I will catch a ferry for a harbor tour and visit to Devonport.. NZ$33.

Another hour of walking and I watch the city change for it's nightlife. Some businesses close while others open as local street performers and vendors sparsely appear. I am still exhausted and don't get to enjoy too much of it. The weather is back to being “brisk” as I make my way back to City Lodge. Day Two awaits full of promise.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb