Last night away


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
December 9th 2015
Published: December 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Had a great surprise today! My friends Jeff and Amy who got married this summer are in Auckland and they picked me up from the airport. Was great to see familiar faces again.

Christchurch is the most depressing place I've ever been in my life. There are buildings still half destroyed, a crazy amount of construction going on, nobody in the whole city was smiling. I walked around for about 3 hours and had to go inside because I couldn't handle it anymore. Can't even imagine what it was like right after the earthquake. Not much positive to report.

It's my last night abroad. I can't believe how fast this trip has gone by. It's mind blowing to think about all the things I've done, places I've seen and people I've met on my trip. I've learned so many things about the world, other people and of course myself.

My whole trip is kind of a blur right now and it still seems surreal the whole thing happened. Words can't really express what this trip has done for me as a person, how differently I feel and all the things I've learned.

I fly out of Auckland at around 8pm local time tomorrow, so there's still time to get your last minute souvenir requests in. I arrive in Calgary at around 4:30pm the same day so I'm traveling back in time haha. This is going to be the longest day of my life! Literally a 44 hour day.

Thanks everyone for reading my blog! Would love to catch up with everyone when I get back. Still have a ton of pictures to post. Don't think I've even posted any from the south island. Will try to catch up on those when I get back to Calgary.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb