AUCKLAND DAY 2 - EMBARKATION ON HOLLAND AMERICA OOSTERDAM


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
February 16th 2014
Published: February 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

SUNRISE IN AUCKLANDSUNRISE IN AUCKLANDSUNRISE IN AUCKLAND

FROM MY HOTEL
AUCKLAND DAY 2



It’s amazing how the personality of a city can change so much from Saturday night to Sunday morning. I walked from my hotel to church at 7:45 am and the streets were calm and held not many people where last night they were crowded and lively. The weather was very nice and St. Patrick’s Cathedral was full and the people were welcoming. It was a beautiful, traditional style building and I felt very much “at home”. I didn’t get up early enough to have breakfast so I stopped at a Burger King on the way back to the hotel for a quick breakfast before packing and checking out from my hotel. Check out from The Quadrant Hotel was easy and the stay was OK but so overpriced ( because of the Lantern Festival? ) I paid Ritz Carlton prices for a Motel 6. Supply and demand I guess, buyer beware.



A short taxi ride brought me to the dock and then the controlled chaos of boarding. On board I got to my stateroom and then to the Crows Nest before going through the mandatory lifeboat drill.



The departure from Auckland was spectacular with all the sailboats in the harbor. No wonder Auckland is known as “sail city”. Great visit. If you have time to visit, give yourself several days, it’s a great port. Tomorrow to Tauranga and kiwifruit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th February 2014

Beautiful Harbor
Chuck, Sounds like another great trip. Australia and New Zealand are still on are lists of places to see, but Linda has trouble with long trips right now, so it will have to wait. Your comments and pictures reinforce it as a must see place. Have a good trip back. Rick

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb