Hurray, I'm in New Zealand!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
May 6th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sydney to Auckland


Just a quick note to say I've arrived safely at my hostel in Auckland. I had an awesome night at the Holiday Inn at Sydney Airport last night. The novelty of being in a room on my own for the first night since I left Sri Lanka was pretty exciting for me! Plus there was a double bed, and a bath, and a TV! It probably doesn't seem like a big deal to you guys, but trust me, after two months being constantly surrounded my strangers it was nice to just drink tea and watch TV in bed! Plus having a landline telephone in my room meant I could receive some phone calls from home which was brilliant. I ordered room service and everything. Joy!

I spent my last day in Sydney organising a few final details of my stay in New Zealand, visiting St. Mary's Cathedral at Hyde Park and going to the observation deck of the Sydney Tower Eye to get one final few of the city. Unfortunately this is when I realised how close the airport is and how pointless the overnight stay at the airport really was. Of course I forgot about that when I saw the room and all the amenities (I even used the iron!).

My flight to Auckland was really good, I flew with Air New Zealand and was very comfortable for the duration of the flight, up until the moment I poured half a can of coke onto my seat. I am the most awkward human alive, I swear it. Anyway, I was suitably embarrassed but I'm no longer surprised by my boundless ineptitude, so I cleaned up as best as I could and finished watching 'Stupid, Crazy, Love'... which was actually quite good (Sara advised me to watch it earlier in the week). Oh, and I finally finished my book! 'Love in the Time of Cholera' by Marques. It was very good! I was considering posting it home but I might just leave it behind. If I need another copy I can probably get one on Amazon.com for a couple of quid anyway. In Sydney Airport I bought 'Nausea' by Sartre, so that's next on my list... not exactly light reading I know, but I've been promising myself I'd attempt Sartre for a while. I didn't study Existentialism at uni... well I did but specifically Kierkegaardian Existentialism... I regret not opting for the broader Existentialism course, but I think it clashed with Philosophy of Aesthetics. Anyway! The time has come for Sartre.

Right, I'm off to wander aimlessly around Auckland and hunt for food.

Much love,
Streets.
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb