Getting settled, old friends


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
March 3rd 2012
Published: March 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Train StationThe Train StationThe Train Station

The beautiful fern covered wall.
On Friday night my Dad had made plans for us to meet up with a family that we stayed with when we first moved to New Zealand in 1995. They had picked us up from the airport when we arrived and their daughter Kate, who was the same age as me, had quickly become my "best friend". It's strange how in this day and age with all the technology and social media you can stay connected with people that you might never seen again in your life. Had I not been friends with Kate on Facebook and watched her grow and change, it would have been all the more strange to see her a mere fifteen years after my short year of living here. But it was not. It was like seeing old family and we all were smiling and laughing at old times and conversing over how much has changed.



Her and her boyfriend and her wonderful parents John and Julie met us at our hostel for some cheese and wine and some catching up and then we headed down to the waterfront to an Irish pub called Danny Doolins for dinner. It was an awfully loud place but it had character and once the live band chimed in we all settled in quite well. I was amazed to see the prices of eating out in this country. This place was not particularly on the fancy side but the cheapest thing on the menu was nachos or a salad for $20. I opted for the spicy chicken salad which I usually love because most people that know me, know my taste for spiciness. I was surprised to find that spicy is what I would consider extremely mild but the salad was delicious and unlike the U.S., the portions were perfect. A lot smaller than they would be in our country but just the right amount.



We wandered the streets of the city for a bit and explored their beautifully designed train station with it's three tracks and wonderful ferns growing out of an entire wall. Then we made one more stop at a ridiculously trendy bar called SMITH. Some coffee, wine and great conversation later we headed home to our hostel. Throughout the night Kate and I kept remembering things we had done and funny dances we had made up and how the first
PenguinsPenguinsPenguins

Kelly Tarlton's
time we met she couldn't understand my accent. So strange how so much time can pass yet it feels as though it was only yesterday that we were eleven and spending every day so carefree and happy.



I awoke early Saturday morning, as this seems to be my routine because of the time change, and headed out for my daily adventure through the city. It was a quick run today but my legs were sore from getting lost the other morning and running up and down the steepest hills you've ever seen. My Dad and I decided, because it was supposed to be such horrible weather, that it would be the perfect day to head out to Kelly Tarlton's. An antarctic underwater experience. It was so much fun seeing the penguins, which are one of my favorite animals, the sharks, sting rays, tropical fish and sea horses. It was a perfect day under the sea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb