Day 65 - Last day in NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
March 17th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, that's it. I've done my loop of New Zealand, and finished off in my *favourite* city Auckland. I catch a flight to Sydney this evening. The happiest moment of my day so far was when I realised that a Swiss-French friend of mine (called Karim) will be on the same flight as me. We probably won't be sitting together, but it's always nice to have someone to keep you company while you wait for the plane.

I've had an absolutely fantastic time in New Zealand. For people who are thinking about going, do it. For people who aren't specifically thinking about going but are looking for a great adventure and a fantastic time, go to New Zealand. Take every opportunity you get. The scenery is stunning (although, do the North Island first and the South Island second like I did because the North Island seems boring in comparison to South when you return there). The people are fantastic, with really good senses of humour while being very open, friendly and kind. I wrote down a list of all the things I've done in NZ and I've done more in the past (nearly) 2 months than I've done in the past 2 years. I've met tons of wonderful people, and I really hope that I stay in contact with them (what did we do before Facebook?). I have friends all over the world now!! People I can go and visit when I get bored...

And I still have another two months left. I'm going to go from Sydney to Cairns, along the east coast. It's going to be different to NZ because I spend longer in each place, and I imagine that I'll be doing less of a wide variety of activities. Anne (French Canadian) is going to be renting a car in Australia towards the end of my trip, and she's offered to drive with me into the Outback (along with her friend). Just as an NB, the only thing that really annoys me about being a young traveller is that I can't rent cars. It's perfectly fine travelling around on coaches, and it's a really good way to meet people... However, there are places I want to go that the coaches can't take me, and there's the freedom associated with being able to dictate your own journey from start to finish. Nevertheless, Australia will be where I really start working on my tan. I've learnt my lesson - you CANNOT rub suncream into your own back. And the sun really hates anyone who has pale skin. And sunburn really hurts, especially when it's in a no-ozone-layer part of the world.

New Zealand is a fantastic place, I've enjoyed my time so much. I'm definitely going to come back... Probably in the winter season so I can get some skiing in!! I just hope Australia doesn't disappoint.

Advertisement



18th March 2010

Great posting!
I'm really enjoying reading about your travels! What amazing experiences you're having! My boyfriend and I are soon moving to New Zealand, and your posts have been so helpful! Thanks for sharing, and keep up the great posting! dirty-hippies.blogspot.com
30th March 2010

Wow
Looks like you're having the time of your life!! Keep on enjoying and trying new things. I've only just started to read your blog, so I've got lots to catch up on! Take care. Kx

Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb