Rain and roosters


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Tahiti
December 6th 2007
Published: December 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bill in the craterBill in the craterBill in the crater

This is taken at this crazy hotel in the crater. Its miles from anywhere and totally deserted.
So here we are on a tropical island. Tropical in the sense of never-ending torrential rain that is. Apparently rainy season started the day we arrived. Being outside is like having a shower with lots of other people (avec clothing naturelement!).

We spent the first day wandering around the waterfront area of Papeete (in the rain - did I mention the rain?). We stopped for a spot of lunch and Bill accidentally spent $20 on some apple juice. Nice juice, but a little overpriced we thought. My schoolgirl French is not getting us far but I did manage to say Je voudrais un croque monsieur which made Billy happy.

Yesterday we spent the day on Moorea. It rained all morning (am I repeating myself?) but was fiercely hot in the afternoon and I melted. We trespassed at the Hotel Intercontinental for a while and marveled at how the other half live. Pretty fancy, right down to the tame dolphins swimming in the private lagoon.

Today is our last day here and we've just been on a 4x4 tour of the volcanoes, craters and waterfalls inland back on Tahiti-Nui. You may be surprised to read that it rained a
Rainy ValleyRainy ValleyRainy Valley

That grey stuff is all rain. This is looking into the valley heading to the crater.
fair bit, but it was very beautiful and the rain made loads of lovely waterfalls. Our lovely guide braved the downpour to pick me some ginger flowers which look like they are made of plastic.

Over to Bill and the rooster...

X
Nic

So as Nic said we're seeing and feeling a fair bit of rain.

This places reeks as well, its like Ming central!! Oh and it takes about two hours to get to sleep cause you're either too freakin hot or too busy getting eaten alive. But when you do get to sleep its alright, until about 2 in the morning when the fu&king roosters start going off all around the neighbourhood. But I am loving being away!!! I just like to whinge. On a more positive note the cheese and ham toasties are really something special.

The place as a whole is quite an eye opener and not really what I had in mind, probably from watching too much tv I sort of thought there would be more sun and less smell.

Anyway enough of me whinging cause shucks it could be a helluva lot worse. Maybe working in Welly for instance. Some of you will know what I mean more than others.

Anyway peace out peeps and we'll keep in touch as much as possible (english keyboards are remarkably harder to find than it sounds). Oh yeah once we figure out how to post pictures on this damn thing (never been to technologically sound) we'll get some on.

Laters

Nic and Bill

Advertisement



6th December 2007

Nice
hey guys, WOW!!! you have really made it appealing to future travels. Anyway i hope that you are having a wonderful time, I will be back in NZ in June....im guessing you will be home by then, i thought that while being home i might drive down and see ya's or something. Have a great time :) P.S.....I have a new job!!
6th December 2007

There is no sympathy......
I'm sorry but I'm not giving out any sympathy re the rain, roosters and smell. I would trade it any day. I'm currently revisiting Select Committee and I would rather stick hot pokers in my eyes than be doing it so the rain and the roosters and the smell sound fab!
7th December 2007

Sorry mate
I´ve been lying awake at night just wishing for a nice set of Select Committee questions! Chin up - nearly Xmas and you can go away in your booze bus!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb