Huahine


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Huahine
April 30th 2012
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Surrounding WatersSurrounding WatersSurrounding Waters

Amazing colors
Huahine is part of the Society Islands in French Polynesia, and is one of the lesser developed islands. There are roads, and houses, and it is civilized, but there is not much development in terms of resorts and tourism, which is a good thing, in my opinion.

We did not have a ton of time to explore the island, but we made the most of it by renting some scooters and going for a blast around the island.

As far as I know, there was only one resort on the island, but I'm sure that there were more lesser known bed and breakfast types of places, 'Pensions', as they're called. Huahine is a place that is frequented by sailboat-cruiser types, and with the convenient barrier reef surrounding a good portion of the island, the nicest way to see the island is by boat. There were many little places, nooks and crannies, that we did not have the chance to explore that looked really cool, accesible only by boat.

My favorite experience on the island was when I found a guy that let me rent his one-man outrigger canoe off of him. He didn't normally rent out his canoe,
Archaeological SiteArchaeological SiteArchaeological Site

This island in particular had many archaeological sites and ruins all across the island.
but I was able to talk him into it. The canoe was spray-painted in rasta red, green, and yellow, and I took it out for a paddle for a couple of hours. I even kind of snuck in on a local canoe team that was practicing in the same area--I was trying to see if I could compete with them paddling as they were doing short fast sprint pieces. I was able to keep up with them power-wise, but I had a lot of trouble keeping the canoe in straight line, as there is no rudder or skeg in Tahitian style outrigger canoes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Canoe ClubCanoe Club
Canoe Club

I blended right in.................not!
Sacred EelsSacred Eels
Sacred Eels

There were some 'Sacred Eels' that live in a drainage ditch right next to the road. It was one of the attractions of the island, and there were even tour groups stopping by to look at them.
Blue EyesBlue Eyes
Blue Eyes

The eels are famous for their bright blue eyes, which you can just barely make out in this picture. I've never seen anything like them before.
Fish TrapsFish Traps
Fish Traps

Fish traps still used to this day---the fish get stuck in the traps on the outgoing tides, and it's easy to scoop them up.
ResortResort
Resort

The one 'resort' on the island.


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb