Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
September 15th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After sleeping for nine hours I felt a bit better and ready for something to eat. Matt couldn’t be bothered to get up so I went down and ate breakfast overlooking the sea on my own.

When I got back to our bure Matt was just waking up, so I packed a beach bag and he came back to the beach with me, taking a detour for quick bowl of cornflakes on the way.

It’s amazing how time passes when you aren’t doing anything much. We spent the whole morning laying on the sun beds on the beach. We varied it from laying under the thatched umbrella, to laying out in the sun. At one point I popped to the office to book a massage and a trip for later in the week but other than that we just lay and either read our books or watched the boats taking guests back to the ferry and picking up new ones. By the time the lunchtime horn sounded I was starving!

Lunch today was tasty as always. I had a homemade burger and Matt had a chicken stir fry. Hopefully we’ll still be able to fit something in tonight as well as we aren’t used to having three big meals a day.

The afternoon was spent much the same as the morning, with odd trips to the bar for drinks. On our first day Matt discovered an ‘iced chocolate’ drink which is basically milk, ice cream and chocolate powder blended together. It is delicious and he insists on having at least one glass per day. I get a few sips but it’s a bit too much dairy overload for me unfortunately.

By mid afternoon we had both enjoyed enough of the sun so headed indoors for a game of scrabble. Buying that game was the best investment we’ve made since starting the trip! Unfortunately Matt always wins which is driving me slowly mad. The moment that I win he’ll probably throw the game in the bin as he’s such a sore loser (after I beat him at chess in Raro he refused to ever play again!)

This next two weeks is all going to be very similar. Lots of laying on beaches. Lots of snorkelling and swimming. Lots of eating. Maybe one or two trips to see some local sights. Lush!

We are enjoying our stay here at Octopus but are also looking forward to the other places we’re visiting as this does feel a bit busier than we’d like. The next stop should be much more our sort of thing as there are only a few shacks on the beach at Long Beach and hopefully the lack of hot water and basic facilities will put a lot of the tourists off. We’re becoming travel snobs - I can’t believe it! I can’t actually see us doing a package holiday again after this.

Dinner was a set three course meal and we sat at a table with a big group of older guests. It was interesting to hear other people’s views on this resort - some people even said they thought the snorkelling here was terrible which really surprised us. If they think here is bad I’d love to see where they think is good!

After dinner we sneaked away as we’d had enough of company. By 10pm I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. That’s probably the latest I’ve managed to stay up in weeks.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb