The Quick Step


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
August 6th 2005
Published: August 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, yesterday evening a case of the quick step walked into my life together with a bit of fever/chills/muscle soreness. It came on so quickly that I suspect food poisoning. I hope that it goes away as quickly.

Still at Sanawai. We're staying 1 extra night (4 total) b4 heading back to the big island. Can't complain really, we stayed inour 1st Bure last night which was great. We have our own shower/toilet/sink and the breeze comes right through the windows (mosq. nets are provided). I can see the beach/ocean from my bed here.

Yes., we went hand-line fishing w/ Rob/Alex from the UK. Both young guys. I didn't catch any fish, but I did catch 2 sand-crabs as part of the bait-harvesting, pre-fishing activities.

The basic process is to find a hole in the sand, then dig pretty wide and deep. Hopefully unearthing a little crab. As I said, I got 2 and nobody other than our guid got any! I must have a special talent. I wonder if there are job openings in this field.

After you find the crab, you tear off its legs, preferably yanking the front pinchers 1st. You're left w/ only the body, which our guide cracked open to use the meat for bait. I did rip legs of myself though...

The crabs I caught were in diam. between a quarter and a 50cent piece. The guide's were larger. I guess that's why he's the guide!

The only 2 fish caught were by Alex and the guide and they were puny. The catch the day before was something like 15 fish! Some quite large.

The village on the isl. here is the largest in the Yasawas, 500 people. That's large considering isl. size and location.

Contemplating our next move, probably back to the mainland. WE've gotten our fill of relaxing and the backpacker scene, though this place isn't very m uch so. There's a surf camp SE of Nadi where we'll try to book 2 nights. They rent boards and there's a beach break. There probably aren't warm showers though, so a night in Nadi may be in order. We have 8 nights left in Fiji, which is a lot.

Chatted w/ an older Kiwi guy today who is a hydro engineer and he used ArcInfo in 1986! I told him about my Google Earth project.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb