Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands » Nanuya Island
September 26th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was feeling better still today so we headed down to breakfast together before Matt headed off for the final day of his course. I sat in the lounge area reading, as I still didn’t feel up to sitting in the sunshine yet. Above my head I saw a big spider with a white body, hanging in his web. I moved seats quickly so that I was no longer sitting underneath him and took some pictures, then I thought it only fair to tell reception so that he didn’t fall on anyone. One of the workmen came and hooked him onto a broom and then gently grabbed him in his hands and placed him in a tree over one of the hammocks. I was pleased he didn’t squash him as I didn’t want to be responsible for the death of another big spider. I also made a mental not to remember to look up to check for spiders before getting into a hammock next time.

Matt appeared around 10.30am all smiles as he’d finished, and passed, his padi open water. I was really pleased for him. Unfortunately the temporary pass only lets him dive for 90 days, after that he needs to get her permanent card which will be posted to our home. It’s lucky that we’re going to stay with Joanne in Perth so that we can get it forwarded on there otherwise he wouldn’t have been able to dive in the Maldives or Thailand.

We used the rest of our internet card up to check whether everyone’s babies have arrived yet. They haven’t! How frustrating!

After lunch we went to the beach and lay in the shade for the afternoon. Matt did an epic hour long snorkel which must have been cold as there were thermaclimes running everywhere making the water warm one second and freezing the next - I even felt it just wading in up to my waist. I was frustrated that I still didn’t feel quite up to snorkelling yet but hopefully by tomorrow I should be a lot better again. Matt managed to hunt down the sea horses and got some difficult photos of them as they’re notoriously shy little things. This time he saw all three of them.. I’m gutted that he’s now seen them twice and I’ve not even seen them once.

In the evening we headed down to the bar and enjoyed a really tasty meal of sliced roasted beef fillet and roast potatoes! It was a nice reminder of home - shame there weren’t any Yorkshires as that would have made it perfect!

As Matt was celebrating being a certified diver he ordered a pina colada - he’s been wanting to try one since we started the trip and now seemed like an ideal time to give it a go.

On the way back to our room we hunted for toads and lizards again. Luckily we had our torch, otherwise we’d have ended up stepping on loads of them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb