Farewell to Fiji!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm afraid I've had to give up on Fiji. Been here for 7 days and had nothing but torrential rain. Had planned (and prepaid) to stay here for 10 days then go on a 12-day sailing cruise round the gorgeous Yasawa Islands but weather (and seas) so rough and forecast is much of the same. So changed my flight and off to NZ in the morning! (Hope rain doesn't follow me there!). Shame - I ws really looking forward to some beautiful beaches and going into some Fiji villages. Fijians are lovely people - SO friendly.

On first day here I met a two British couples travelling together here at the hotel and they moaned about everything here - nothing was good enough for them! They were awful and I felt so sorry for the staff who kept up their lovely smiles and tried so hard to please. Haven't met any REAL travellers yet but there should be plenty in NZ. Today approached by big Fijian guy who offered to take me to his home and give me a big feast!

Think I am in the wrong place at the wrong time. Been nothing to do but read, swim, eat, sleep and take (short) walks in between downpours. No beach here at Lautoka and hard to get around (buses not an option!). I hired a taxi a few days ago at great expense to see the other side of the island, which is better, but you can't do that all the time.

I'm sure there'll be many more opportunities to blog when I get to NZ. Internet access expensive here and the only place I have found a wifi hotspot was over the other side of the island. I really miss Starbucks - hope there's some in Auckland)

Going to pack now - sorry this is not very newsie again. I'm sure they will get better (I keep promising you that don't I?) Haven't had a Eureka moment for a while.

Anyway internet clock is ticking so 'bye for now. By the way, some people are not receiving e-mail alerts to my blogs. If you are could you please leave me a message so that I can try to do something about the rest. I do know that hotmail is not keen on travelblog and keeps kicking them out! And when I can find out how to do it I'll send you some pictures!!

Love W (not so much of a slosh these days). HAPPY 90TH BIRTHDAY FOR THE 12TH MUM. DID YOU GET MY CARD AND PHOTO FROM ALCATRAZ?

Advertisement



11th January 2011

Bad luck Mum! A 12 day sailing cruise would have been fantastic! did they give you your money back? so you will be in where in NZ, on the 12th? xx
12th January 2011

Enjoy NZ
Only seen your blog today - both at Bridge this evening and via Cheryl. Sorry you had such disappointing weather in Fiji, but I'm sure you'll love NZ. I've missed you at bridge and over the odd cup of coffee but am so admiring of your sense of adventure. You'll know the weather here has bee awful too. I've had one day in the garden since early Dec. - at New year. I'm still waiting to get on with our improvements; planting etc but it's been either too cold or too wet (or I've been too lazy!) Looking forward to hearing more about NZ as you travel around, and give our love to Clare when you see/speak to her. Much loveD

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb