Nadi, Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got into Fiji 3 days ago and I'm leaving for Vanuatu tomorrow morning. So Nadi...it's what I envision Cuba looking like 20 years ago, it's pretty rundown. When the car picked me up from the airport all I could think was I hope the hostel isn't in downtown Nadi. I new it was on a beach, but Nadi is on the water too. Anyways, the hostel (Smugglers Cove) is on the edge of Nadi and has it's own bar and restaurant. The back doors open up to it's own private beach scattered with coconut trees. I mention the coconut trees for this reason; there's an old man here (65) named Joni (said like Johnny) who climbs the trees like a monkey, cuts the coconuts down and sells them to people staying at the hostel. Coconuts are good, right? False. Joni had me try an orange coconut (not quiet sure what the difference is besides that it taste like crap). But I couldn't just throw it away, I was sitting and talking to him as I 'enjoyed' it. After I forced myself to drink the juice, Joni excitedly tells me that there's a jelly like substance inside that you can eat... Anyways, Mason told me there would be a point where the food would get me sick and he was right. My advice, stay away more orange coconuts or whatever the hell that was.
The hostel is more of a stop over place. It's the kind of place you stay for a night and move onto the islands, which is what I will do when I come back here after Vanuatu. It's a new group of people every night and I seem to be the only person here staying multiple nights, other than these two creepy British kids (who are currently sitting right behind me). Surprisingly, the people I've like the most have been the Germans. Didn't see that one coming.
I'm really excited for Vanuatu. The exchange rate is 100:1 (fiji is 2:1) and while prices have an inflated number, it's still really cheap. I'm staying at Evergreen Resort on the other side of the island from the volcano (Mt. Yasur). It's an active volcano that's constantly erupting so hopefully I'll have some good pictures.
One last note, did you know that when the moon is half full down here it looks like a cereal bowl lying down? I guess it makes sense but I didn't realize it until last night. The Germans probably thought I was an idiot for just noticing it now.

Oh ya, I have no idea what the internet and cell service will be like in Vanuatu so if I go dark for the next week, that's probably why. I hope everyone's doing well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb