Feejeeeeee


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bula! It's the Fiji word for "hello" and it's the first Fijian word you'll learn. Arriving at night I wasn't sure what to expect. A few bula here and there at the airport. I was rushing at the airport knowing that I had to visit two offices to sort out the tours I had booked before taking the taxi to the accommodation. I was thinking that the taxi must be waiting and the staff would look at my booking quickly and send me off. I am told there is no rush and the staff were very laid back. I am in Fiji and it's Fiji Time from now on 😊

Fiji is a place I wasn't sure about and had mixed feelings. When I got to the hostel from the airport I looked at how many days I have left before my flight leaves Fiji. The town looked run town at night. In the morning I started the island hopping. Leaving the boat from the marina and looking out into the sea I couldn't see what the Fiji fuss is all about. After the announcment for the first island and I went up to the deck to get a view of the island where I'll spend the night. It's the South Sea Island, I thought this place truly is a paradise! All the welcomes on the islands precede whith a song. People are so friendly and laid back. In fact, the staff are so laid back that I missed a boat because the guy looking after the transfers didn't know what date it was! I can understand that I don't have track of dates but it's really strange that the staff don't know the date!

The next island was the Nacula island, Coral View resort. The staff made us feel very welcome and at home. They even remember you're name. We went to the Blue Lagoon for snorkelling, the place where they filmed Brooke Shields movie "Blue Lagoon". The trip to the Sawailau Caves was great and so was the cave. I was a bit worried about going to the cave as there is a section where you have to swim underwater reach another small cave but I skipped it.

My camera has stopped working on second day of the trip because it fell on sand. So not many pictures and it will take time for the pics to get developed 😞 Apart from that, this place is fantastic. I was talking with others and we thought it's living a dream. No worries, you're cut out from the out side world. Don't have to make many decisions, no buses to catch or cooking. Just chill out and relax in paradise! Get feed and they always sing for you during meals. Rest on the beach or in a hammock, go snorkelling or play volleyball if you're feeling energetic.

One of the days in the island was spend on a boat where we went to excellent snorkelling sites. The snorkelling here has been fantastic, I would say better than Oz. The water is crystal clear and coral intact. One of the other islands was Waya lailai where I went for a summit walk at 4:30 in the morning. Needless to say it was dark and in Fiji they are not big on health and safety. It's all an adventure. Today I went to a sailing trip on the outer Mamanuca Islands. Good snorkelling and a visit to the island which was used in the Tom Hanks movie ‘Castaway’.

We went to Fijian villages and attended Kava ceremonies. Kava is a drink and there is a protocol which involves clapping and saying the world Bula of course. Fijian are traditional people and very friendly. The island hopping has been awesome. This place has been unreal and I've met some nice people. The locals don't realise they're living in a paradise.

A lot of backpackers visit the islands and go off to the next destination. I wanted to know more about Fiji and culture. With it's political situation, tension and almost half Indo-Fijian population it's going to be interesting place. Understandably, sometimes I get confused as being an Indo-Fijian and I'll try to follow the advice I was given by the Fijian gentleman on the plain. Well just go with the follow.

I started a four day trip around the main island with Feejee experience. Basically a tour bus with western backpackers, pumping the reggae music. Everyone knows about the bus and locals gives us a wave when we pass by people on the road. Nadi, the town where the flights land, is an eye opener. I had spend a week on the islands and it's also interesting to see the other side. A lot of people think I am from Fiji and the Indo-Fijian speak Hindustani. It's actually broken Hindi, a slang. Still, no problem in understand the language or replying. Actually the written Hindi in posters and signs was formal, only when they speak it, it's broken.
I got greeted in Hindi by Indo-Fijian and Fijians, which I found a little strange.

Really quick culture change in this trip that I almost found it unbelievable. Walking in town, which were Indian and listening to the bollywood music playing in the streets. I would get greeted by Fijians in Hindi and they would even say a few words in Hindi which would take me a tiny bit of time to register. Not to forget meeting the Fiji-Indians too. Then I would just walk into the "green bus" where there are only western backpackers with western music playing. And these people you relate to most when you're traveling, exchanging stories. The switch in culture so quickly, I couldn't get over with. It was almost being or trying to be at 3 places at once!!! All this in paradise!

We staying at few resorts and the Fijian hospitality was always amazing. All the singing and dancing at the resorts they really made sure we were having a great time!

I was speaking to the tour bus driver, who is an FBI (Fijian born Indian) about the culture and way of life. I probably didn't get the full view in the days I spent in Fiji but I was amazed how the Indians have managed to continue the tradition and culture over a century. Most of them are 5th or 6th generation and majority of them don't have the money to visit India. It's almost a mystery for them, they speak the Indian language, cook the food, follow the culture and traditions but they've never been to India. It seems the political situation is exaggerated in the media and the people of both races live peacefully, or at least that's what I'm being told by people.

The Fijian people are very traditional. Not long ago they were cannibal and now they have the friendliest people on earth. The cava ceremony protocol, bula and even the very basic small Fiji words go a long long way with people. They look amazed! As for the tour, it was raining most of the time but it was crazy and fun! Locals at resort say, welcome home, you're part of the family and always take a part of Fiji when you go back. No fake smiles you get in hostels from the staff, people and genuinely happy to see you. People are poor but happy. The paradise islands, activities and rich culture... for me Fiji has been a special place.




Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 24; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb