So you are Canadian? BULA!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Almost thereAlmost thereAlmost there

On the flight from Los Angeles to Fiji, once every hour, a display like this showed us our progress. Here we are nearly in Fiji.
Here goes my attempt at a travel journal. I will do my best to update it as much as I can with all of the most interesting anecdotes and experiences that I go through as I make my way from Fiji to Europe. Hope you guys enjoy it.

Well, given how long I have been thinking about traveling it actually feels somewhat sureal to be sitting in another country far from home now that I have finished up at university and am trying to decide what to do with myself. It was such an abstract concept for so long, but now that I am living it, I really don't think I could be happier.

Leaving Toronto was pretty tough given that Deirdre and the rest of the family was pretty upset to see me go ( I think...) Anyway, after clearing customs are Pearson Elke and I began a trip that ended up taking 24 hours to complete with a full 18 hours being spent on a plane. We had short stop overs in Minneapolis and Los Angeles before arriving at Nadi international airport in Fiji after a 12 hour flight from LA, which actually wasn't too bad, given that I slept for about 9 hours of it.

A driver from our hostel picked us up and brought us into downtown Nadi so we could drop our stuff off and take a look at our accommodation for the night. After divesting ourselves our some rather large backpacks Elke and I decided to get out of our hostel (which was definetly a bit rustic) and look around the town. Nadi is actually quite a small place as there is one major street, called Main st appropriately enough, and a few other streets which branch off from this but that is about it. One downside to this is the reality that you cannot avoid the con-men and sheisters who are all over Main st. just waiting for the next unsuspecting tourist. Part of the problem with avoiding these guys is that everyone in Fiji is very friendly and, in contrast with Toronto where everyone walks around with their head down and eyes forward, it is quite normal for more than half the people you pass in the street to greet you with an enthusiastic BULA (which means hello and a few other things apparently). All the con-men use this natural
Walking around NadiWalking around NadiWalking around Nadi

This area is about a 5 minute walk from the downtown core of Nadi
friendliness against tourists by greeting them, asking where they are from and then inviting them into a nearby store for a traditional Kava ceremony (this ritual actually deserves its own entry which it will get soon). After tossing back a bowl of the Fijian national beverage, many tourists are surprised to discover that they are now expected to pay for the experience and are also pressured into purchasing some of the store's goods, often with 5-6 large Fijian guys standing around looking...well...large. Thankfully I didn't learn this lesson the hard way as I was willing to chat with the con-man for a little bit (not wanting to ruin the good reputation Canadian have earned as travelers) but I wasn't about to set foot into any of the stores for any kind of ceremony.

Avoiding the con-men actually proved to be perhaps the most entertaining part of Nadi as there is virtually nothing to do beyond checking out a local Fijian market (which was kind of neat) and visitng the numerous stores which are aimed at tourists. Anyway, something of an interesting first day in Fiji and needless to say I am very much looking forward to heading out to the Yasawa Islands for our sailing cruise. Will be posting some pics as soon as I can.

Hope things are well.

Conor


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sketchy stairs in our hostelSketchy stairs in our hostel
Sketchy stairs in our hostel

I could actually see the ground about 15 feet below through most of these steps.
First meal in a new countryFirst meal in a new country
First meal in a new country

And what do I do? Order a burger of course.


11th October 2007

Con-men?
Con-man - how appropriate that you are getting harassed by Con-men, given that you are the COn-man! Loved the update, keep them coming, and just remember that should you get sick of flying, you can always take the tunnel! Drake
12th October 2007

stay sharp
great job at staying strong against the con-men and women. glad you're having a fantastic time!! yes the experiences will serve you well in your many years to come, this trek will be remembered for a lifetime...ps..thank you for being elke's super team-mate. stay strong and stay focused but make sure you have lots of fun too...

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb