No longer a backpacker...now a cruiser!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Denarau
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our route


Bold SpiritBold SpiritBold Spirit

My home for the next four months!!
It's my second day in Fiji aboard Bold Spirit and oh boy, I'm exhausted! Boat life is tough! Today we worked on getting the boat ready to sail. As in I scrubbed and rinsed the deck, getting all the mold off the 'teak' while Kathi cleaned the 'head' and Jeff worked on mechanical things. Quite a change up from yesterday which involved hanging out on the boat while my room was cleaned out and all the items were stuffed into other cubby holes. It really is nice to have my own 'cabin.' I can tell already this trip will be fantastic!

This morning Kathi and I caught a taxi into town ($2 FJ) then walked to the market and bulked up on fruit and vegetables: carrots, lettuce, ginger, tomato's, lime, banana, papaya all for only $20 FJ (~10 USD)! Incredible how cheap it is. We also went to a grocery store and got a few necessary 'western' food items for the voyage to come: 4 containers of cream cheese and some fruit juice and yogurt for the base of our smoothies. Pretty excited for those!

Right now we're docked in Denarau Marina, part of a palm tree lined resort
Earning my keepEarning my keepEarning my keep

Scrubing the deck
village. My first night here, fresh off the plane, we walked five minutes from the boat to Cardo's, one of five restauarants in the resort. We had a deliciously huge pizza and drank cold Fiji Bitter while listening to a Fijian live band playing all popular cover songs. What a life!! So far the days have been in the mid 80's and the nights are cold enought that you need a thin sheet, We plan to leave Denarau either tomorrow or wednesday to head back to Musket Cove on Malololailai. We'll hang out there for a few days stocking up on provisions and possibly begin our sail toward Vanuatu on sunday. The rough plan is to spend a month in Vanuatu and another month in New Caledonia before heading back to Fiji to sail around the islands Jeff and Kathi haven't seen. Our longest open water crossing will be 5-7 days followed by island hopping. The whole sailing part should be pretty interesting considering I've never really sailed before. I'm pretty confident, well maybe I should say hopeful, that I won't get too seasick. I brought along some ear patches just in case though!

Life on the boat is
My own personal cabinMy own personal cabinMy own personal cabin

It's a tight squeeze, but its comfy!
pretty laid back. I brought along a puzzle book which I'm already halfway through (uh-oh) as well as a few books. But not to worry, my aunt and uncle have tons of books and even heaps of illegally copied movies which are sold all over the South Pacific. It'll be interesting to see just how many books I make it through in the next 4 months, not to mention how well I cope living on a sail boat for 1/3 of the year. But I guess the boat is quite a big step up from my van Clifford which I lived in for 5 months in Australia.

Advertisement



4th August 2010

Your life is nice!
Hello Anna, what a great new travel story!! It sounds great! Hope you guys have a lot of fun!!!! Fida and I finished our trip in SUmatra. Tomorrow we fly to Malaysia and then we have 1 1/2 week left. After that it is back to being a teacher again.... Keep up the good life! CHeers!! Sven! ;-)

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb