Week 7


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
February 15th 2011
Published: February 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Week 7

With each week I am amazed at how fast the time goes here. Only 11 more and I will be home. Though, I am starting to worry about what exactly I will do when I get back! The job search has begun, though in all honesty it needs a bit more enthusiasm behind it. Anyone out there in the Hospitality Industry that is looking to hire…. Let me know!

Highlights of this week are Wednesday night karaoke and Friday night quiz night. Wednesday was a girls night for the most part and since I was off on Thursday, you had better believe I had a good time! Amanda and I hit up the mic with Courtney, Lucile and Sara with guest appearances by Kevin, Sara’s boyfriend. Amanda and I stayed out all night and got into all sorts of mischief before running into our neighbors at the bar and getting a handy ride home from them.

Thursday I felt absolutely awful but Tom had given me the day off so I could finally get my driver’s license so I knew I needed to at least get that done. I may or may not have still been slightly tipsy when I took my road test in the morning, but Thank God this is Rarotonga and of course, I passed. This also came in handy as Friday night I got stopped after the bar (I was sober) at a police checkpoint and to my surprise, it was the very officer who signed off on my license. I quickly got waved through and told to be careful and not speed. These things always happen to me! The rest of Thursday I ran some errands and took a nap. Amanda has gotten me completely hooked on an English t.v. series called Shameless and we tend to go through at least 3 episodes a night. I love British humour!

Friday night there was a fundraiser at The Edgewater Resort for the Cook Islands Cricket team to go to Samoa in the form of a quiz night. Steve was nice enough to pay for both of our teams of 5 and subsequently, Courtney, Tom, Steve, Amanda and I came in 3rd place out of 26 teams! We won beer cozies and meal vouchers at a local burger place. Not bad for a Friday night! Afterwards we all headed out to Whatever! Bar in town and had some fun. Fairly standard night I’d say.

Saturday was very uneventful with no divers on the books so Amanda and I read through our First Aid book for our Emergency First Response Cert. Then we went to get her new scooter and used the burger vouchers to get lunch for Tom and Courtney. We went home early and caught the sunset on the beach before going home and indulging in more Shameless.

Sunday was also fairly easy at work, a group of American divers that we have had all week came in. Standard day as far as that goes. Sunday night I changed addresses as I am house-sitting for Steve while he and his daughters are in New Zealand for two weeks visiting family. I have a whole house to myself now, complete with two dogs and a cat. Amanda helped me move my stuff over and then made a fantastic dinner while I unpacked and took a shower. It was very romantic indeed! Haha!

This morning I went on two awesome dives with Tom and Amanda. Tom tried to kill me by throwing me off the boat with my whole SCUBA kit on, but not at all prepared. I have a feeling it looked something akin to me doing a sideways cartwheel type move off the side. I could have killed him, haha. No big plans for Valentines Day tonight, I will most likely go home and unpack, make myself whatever is easiest for dinner and think about how if I were home, I still wouldn’t have anyone to celebrate with, but there would be chocolate galore and great movies on tv.

The ever-redundant love and thanks goes out to my family. Especially on this 14 of Feb, 2011. Stay warm, and safe, and give eachother a hug and a kiss from me! Happy Valentines Day, and I will be seeing you soon!!

C
xx




Advertisement



15th February 2011

LOve you and send you lots of hugs and kisses. Love the blog! You go girl.
16th February 2011

Island Fever
Sounds like you are TRULY settling in to Island Life.....even your Blogs are laid back!!! Enjoy!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb