Week 3


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Week 3

Its official: I dont wear shoes anymore. I spent all Saturday sandal-less and couldnt be happier. I went to work, went grocery shopping, took a drive around the island and chatted to my neighbors. All without any sort of barrier between flesh and ground.

Have I gone native? Am I destined to be a Raro bum for life? I doubt it. BUt I havent had my "Holy Shit!" thoughts in quite some time, and that can only be a good thing.

The anti- shoe thing really started out of practicality and pain. First, it is too difficult and annoying to always be putting shoes on and off. Yes, even flip-flops. You never wear them into the house, dont need them on the boat and they are cumbersome and slippery when wet around the shop. They also caused a great deal of pain post-scooter spill since the strap layed directly across my foot wound. Ouch. So, moral of the story: I believe that the first step to claiming this Island and this lifestyle as home is to kick off your shoes, free your feet and keep it that way.

This week has been full of interesting moments as every single intern came up lame. Tim and myself had our foot injuries and Sara had to go to the hospital for 3 days to drain a cyst near her groin. Steve was also out of the picture as he was "playing nanny" with Emily gone home to Canada. This left me on the boat with Tom every morning and oh what a fun filled week we had in the dear Southern waters of Rarotonga.

Monday started with Courtney and Courtney bonding time at the pool, complete with icecreams. Then Sara got back and it was clear she was not ok. Tim drove her to the hostpital where she stayed for 3 days. Monday night we said goodbye to injured Emily with pizza at Trader's. We signed her cast and wished her well. After getting home she found out she had several more fractures than the ones shown on the x-ray here so it was a good thing she went home.

Tuesday was the most hellish day for Tom and I. I woke up in a funk and the day followed from there. It was low tide in the morning at the boat with heavy, gusting winds that conveniently swept us right onto the coral reef where we proceeded to be stuck for about 45 minutes. It took lots of Tom in the water pulling the boat to get us out, I felt absolutely awful for him. Thank goodness nothing was really going on in the afternoon so I got to gome home where I enjoyed just laying in bed watching movies, trying to forget our horendous morning.

Wednesday went much more smoothly at work which was nice. Tim, Lucile and I capped our day with burgers at Wigmore's. I must say, so far, between Wigmore's, Miro's and Super Brown my favorite is Super Brown. Yes, I am working my way towards Raro burger conosuier.

Thursday was another good morning on the boat with me off in the afternoon again. I ran into town and got some party supplies for Sara's 21st Bday BBQat the shop. This was also the first day I realized was no longer homesick and was quite content to be here. 😊

Friday was Hilary's going away party. I am so sick of saying goodbye to people when I just got here! We did dinner at Raviz where PAul and friends joined us. There was an eating competition that I happily earned a silver medal in. Bronze for 1 plate, silver for 2, and gold for 3. I have no idea how Ru, Paul, Tom and Lucile stomached gold medal worthy dinners. I was rolling our with my two. Sara met Tom HIlary and I out and we raged until 2am. Boy I have missed going out! It was much needed! I found out though that I known to the other dive centers by my neon pink sunglasses. They are officially my trademark and I LOVE it!

Saturday was nice and calm. I was still kicking at 5:30pm on 3 hours of sleep with no hangover and no brick wall hit. Steve took Tim and Hilary out for a dive since our clients didnt show and I got to drive the boat. I loved it. While on my boat duty perch I realized I am really starting to like it here. Im very excited for the coming months. Back to being as excited as before I left home.

Week 3 has come and gone, but life is good and Raro is treating me well. I still need to get my visa extension and my own scooter, but thats my to do for Week 4. Love to all back home!!!


C
xx

Advertisement



21st January 2011

PICTURES
pICTURES....WE NEED PICTURES!!!!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb