Dear Lord, I’m famous


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
January 26th 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gene and I spent our last day concluding our blog entries, writing post cards and packing our bags. We hadn’t realized until Thursday afternoon that our flight was heading out Friday night at 11:30 p.m., as opposed to Saturday night. While we were both disappointed to leave the Cook Islands, we welcome the new adventures that lie ahead of us in Fiji.

While we awaited our shuttle bus to the airport in the lounge of our hotel, a little Rarotongan boy befriended Gene, pulling out the children’s version of Trivial Pursuit. I convinced Gene to play along as it appears that the children on the island lack a much-needed attention, based on their incessant hunt for the attention of the tourists. On the other hand, it may merely be the effect of the Islanders’ overly friendly nature. Nonetheless, the little boy sat on the floor with his legs bent at the knee, tucked underneath his shirt, as he rocked back and forth in contemplation of his next answer. I came to the boy’s aid in an attempt to defeat Gene. However, time passed quickly and, before we knew it, our shuttle bus had arrived.

Gene could not relate yesterday as we sat at the bus stop waiting for the last bus to arrive and I requested a brown bag for my head. I felt as though every last occupant of the bus was eyeing me and had labeled me in some way or another. Then, today, as we boarded our shuttle bus and engaged in small talk with the driver, we where asked where we were from.

“Chicago.”

“You wouldn’t happen to be the girl at Island Nights last night, are you?”

Hesitating, “Yes…that was me…”

The islander responded with a hearty laugh. “Were you by chance the girl with the Tequila Sunrise?” (Referring to the free drink offered as a prize to the winner of the dance contest.)

“Unfortunately, yes.”

Another belly-jiggling laugh. “The one wearing the Sarong, right?” Don’t worry; it’ll be our little secret.”

“What was my dancer’s name?”

“Ben.”

“Well, tell Ben that I said hello and get me to the airport as quickly as possible.”

Gene and I arrived at the airport in a rush, since our driver had been late in getting us and we had to stop to pick up another passenger before proceeding to the airport. Gene and I scurried to the Check-In line and, within seconds, Gene looked at me in utter despair and exclaimed, “Oh my God...my backpack!!! I left it in the shuttle!!!” This backpack had contained our lives - our camera, laptop and PASSPORTS!! Luckily, the passenger that we had picked up on the way to the airport was standing beside us and advised us that she had the driver’s telephone number. Well, for whatever reason, the call wasn’t going through from Gene’s cell phone. Gene ran off at once, leaving me alone with all of our luggage.

After observing Gene dart from guard to guard, I watched as he walked over to a car parked in front of the airport. I clumsily dragged all of our luggage and joined Gene at the street where he frantically begged a car full of young girls to let him use their cell phone to call the driver. Bouncing about in their seats in laughter, the girls asked Gene for the number. The driver dialed the number on her cell phone and, upon hearing the voice at the other end of the line, said, “Henry??” She giggled. I told her to tell him that it was the couple from Chicago. Giggling like a ditz, “I have two people here from Chicago that asked to use my cell phone to call you...hehehehe. They left their bag in your car…hehehe.” The girl looked at Gene with a smile and said, “Henry is my cousin.” In no time at all, Henry was rounding the corner with our bag in tow. We were VERY, VERY lucky.


Advertisement



13th February 2007

Lucky indeed!
See? A little boom-boom shake is good every once in a while. You never know when the booty might save your ass! ;o)

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb