Going down south on my own!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
May 23rd 2005
Published: May 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The amphitheatre at Ngilgi caveThe amphitheatre at Ngilgi caveThe amphitheatre at Ngilgi cave

A view from the ground to the cieling
I decided not to wait to find a travel mate for the trip south from Perth. It's supposed to be a relatively short one (about 2500 km only :-) and I found a ca for 25$ a day only, which is really cheap, so I head off south on my own. It's really different and it's nice to be by myself for a change, to have real privacy.
On Sunday I drove south to the area of Margaret River. I visited one cave on the way (Ngilgi cave) which was nice. My best memory from the cave is my chat with the cave guide, a nice British guy that settled in Australia 12 years ago. Well the cave was nice too. They have one hall they call "the amphitheatre" and the guide recommended to lie down and look up at the ceiling. I didn't actually do that but I took a picture like that and it came out really nice.
I booked a wine tour for the next day and I stopped for the night in a small surfing village called Prevelly. The hostel was so good that I immediately decided to stay 2 nights. I had a room for myself even though it was a 4 bed dorm. I also had a chance to add a good looking Aussie surfer to my "resume" but I gladly passed... I enjoy my privacy too much to spoil it like that :-)

My wine tour on Monday started only at 11 so before that I went down to Augusta to see the lighthouse there and the point where the Indian Ocean and the South Ocean meet. Here there aren't actually different currents like in the north tip of NZ, so you don't see special waves, and I was a bit disappointed. But the highlight of the day was on the way down to Augusta, when 3 kangaroos jumped almost in front of my car. That was scary! And one of them also decided to cross back, just after I was glad I missed him the first time!

The wine tour was great. It is called "bushtacker wine tour" (and it's highly recommended!). Apart from the regular wine tasting we had a bushtacker lunch which means special food that comes from the bush. The bush celery salad was great, and I don't like normal celery at all. The bush tomato salad was also good, although bush tomato by itself is something really disgusting. I also liked most of the wine I tasted and was tempted to buy 2 bottles - one Pino Noir and one some mixed red with a very special taste. Each was twice more expensive than my usual wine budget in the supermarket (10$ a bottle) but I couldn't resist.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

At the top of the lighthouseAt the top of the lighthouse
At the top of the lighthouse

It was windy up there!
I'm so engineer... took a photo of the lenseI'm so engineer... took a photo of the lense
I'm so engineer... took a photo of the lense

It magnifies a pretty small light to one that will be seen from 40km, not bad
Tasting wine at Adifern wineryTasting wine at Adifern winery
Tasting wine at Adifern winery

I bought a real goof Pinot Noir there
Za'atar!Za'atar!
Za'atar!

I couldn't believe my eyes - in one of teh wineries they gave us za'atar to see how it changes the taste of the wine. They called it differently but they did it was from the middle east. It is very popular in that area. It made me a bit homesick!
Bushtacker lunch (1)Bushtacker lunch (1)
Bushtacker lunch (1)

With non-bushtacker wine...
Bushtacker lunch (2)Bushtacker lunch (2)
Bushtacker lunch (2)

Good yummie stuff!
And last - artistic photo of a leafAnd last - artistic photo of a leaf
And last - artistic photo of a leaf

They sold such pictures there so I thought I could do one on my own!


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb