Swagwoman.. in Karajini!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
June 17th 2006
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sturt's Desert  PeaSturt's Desert  PeaSturt's Desert Pea

The emblem of Western Australia - Nope it's actually South Australia's!
Saturday 17th June to Wednesday 21st June 2006

Gorge Walking and Swaggin it...

Day 1: Exmouth to Karijini National Park

Hurrah! I get to leave Exmouth!!! Double Hurrah!

Next thing to mention is 'Lucky' - no not the insurance dog or a Bay - a Kangaroo this time! Yup my tour group includes a joey... On the way up to Exmouth the tour bus stopped to move a dead Kangaroo from the road only to find a living joey in the pouch! So if you see me or others holding a pillow case - well that's the fake pouch!!

Nothing like a cute little joey to put a smile on your face and make you forget Exmouth (I did not particularly take to the place!!). Sadly it didn't last long...

...the gear change broke... then a flat tyre on the trailer up a dirt road on the way into Karijini National Park..then the suspension in the trailer went...

We spent the night in Tom Price campsite... in a tent...super.

Day 2 & 3: Karijini National Park

Hammersly Gorge had amazing rock structures - all wavey. Here was my first freshwater pool
Oops the wheel is missing...!Oops the wheel is missing...!Oops the wheel is missing...!

...I'm sure that's not supposed to happen!?!
to swim in... it was freezing!!This was my first experience of 'swagging it'!

It may not seem as tho this was a very long trip. Thing is it was it was a learning trip, a first experiences trip and such an adrenilin rush that it was just what I needed and for me, changed me. Not in a way that is noticable. It just gave me that final push of self confidence to get mme back to me and get me ready for new chanllenges... It was an amazing trip and I have recommended this one to others

Day 4: Karijini National Park to Eighty mile Beach

All day in the bus...

Port Hedland. Umm can't remember it!

Eighty Mile Beach. Our first shower since Tom Price on the first night... the water was red from all the dust!! Gross!

Day 5: Eighty Mile Beach to Broome

Arrival in Broome via Anastasia's Pool and dinosaur footprints... I have no idea if I saw Anastasia's Pool as I never really knew what I was looking for... I also never took a look at the dinosaur footprints - I thought they were fake!!! he!he! Oh well!!

Day 6 & 7: Broome

Broome Broome, another day, another blog...


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hammersly GorgeHammersly Gorge
Hammersly Gorge

The freshwater pool... ready for a dip?!
I did it!I did it!
I did it!

I got to the other end...
The other side...The other side...
The other side...

The rest of the group coming through...
Me and my swag...Me and my swag...
Me and my swag...

...or is it Matilda??!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb