A chance to get close to the recently retired Australind.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Pinjarra
January 12th 2024
Published: January 12th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Opportunities like this only come around every so often and this opportunity is a special one. The train pictured service the Perth to Bunbury route for 37 years and retired only recently in anticipation of a new rail car. This train is currently in a siding in Pinjarra where there are already quite a few heritage railway items. This train will be going to a museum in Boyanup but will stay here for now as it needs to be transferred by road due to the fact that the state government no longer owns the railways. The infrastructure is there but the permissions need to be obtained. I used to go and see this train at the Perth train station in the morning because I just say happened to be near the station when it was due to leave for Bunbury. It's good to see it up close and I will be camping nearby tonight so I'll enjoy spending the night with it.

In other news, it's hot! I don't know where I'm going but it's going to be cooler when I get there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.1kb