Just breathe...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 2nd 2012
Published: December 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

What does it mean to call a country "home"? What if your childhood memories of your original home are mixed and fearful? How does that bear any relationship to a home? That is not what I would want for my children. So why would I call it home? My three sisters and I are returning to South Africa for the first time since we left in 1981. My sisters are all excited about returning so why am I so nervous? We had a wonderful time growing up filled with stories that could fill a romantic novel about a close-knit family. And yet my memories are laced with fear growing up in a country where I felt like a stranger in my father's beloved country. I don't really know what to feel... Will I feel the same? What if the fear returns? How will I see that world? The shades of grey I couldn't see as a child... will they be clearer now? Will they help me to see things in a new light, perhaps more forgiving than the eyes of a child? Or will the sharp pain of fear become a familiar companion once again?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb