Closing up shop.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 11th 2011
Published: December 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

No surprises here but I found it hard to find the time to breathe, let alone relax in the last week of school for 2011. I had to set my alarm for before 5am every morning this week. It was just non-stop go! Here’s what I did:

The week began with a lovely surprise, Steve and Jenny Dowie popped in to visit Derby while they were in Broome. It was great to catch up and hear their stories of volunteering in Flores. After a quick after-school coffee catch-up I dashed home to shower before heading off to the Year 7 Graduation dinner at the Windmill Cafe.

On Tuesday night the Georgia’s played our final mixed netball game for the season and ended up winning against a difficult team. On Wednesday the Year 4’s and 6’s had their class party. A big day of fun with a super-supremo Christmas lunch feast and water games in the afternoon. Wednesday night was our Christmas Concert and I loved every second of it. We got the professionals in for lights and sound and the whole school community came to the basketball court for a relaxing night of Christmas themed entertainment. In my opinion it was the perfect family night and not too long!

On Thursday I went along with the Year 7 class on their Broome Big Day Out. We began with a few hours at the Broome swimming pool, McDonalds for lunch, a movie and finally some shopping. We pulled into Derby just after 6pm so it was totally full-on but a day to remember for the kids. That night The Sand Angels played our last game of mixed volleyball and won easily. We found out we were in the grand final but with only 2 days left for most of us in Derby, we would have to find replacement team members for it!

Friday was pack-up/ship-out day and Katie and I managed to get most of our gear moved into our new rooms. By the time the school bell chimed at 2:20 it really didn’t feel liked Christmas holidays were beginning. We all rushed home and I did another million jobs before having to be at our staff dinner by 5:30pm. Indulgence put on a lovely spread and of course most of us kicked on afterwards at the Boab. MJ and I walked home just before closing. I was again setting my alarm for 4:30am just so I could do everything before we left at 9am for the airport. Our plne ride out of the humidity left on time and hassle free and we landed in Perth just after 3.30pm.

Poor Vegemite had a big day on Saturday. No food and spending 4 hours in a cramped cage surely isn’t a pleasant experience but he pulled up ok. It was great to finally pull into Darter Court on Saturday arvo. I spend the next few hours walking around the house noticing all the changes. I set off on my highly anticipated run around 6pm. It was just as perfect as I knew it would be. Running my old route was something I had done in my head many times over the year and to see the glistening water and feel the salty air on my face was the homecoming I was most looking forward to.

Sunday the fam and I went for coffee at the marina. Another activity ticked off my list that I had been looking forward to. I actually found the noise and amount of people overwhelming and it got too much at one stage. I’m sure I’ll adjust quickly enough but I guess you really do get used to being countrified. The rest of the weekend was spent lounging around the house, I was content doing very little. Wonder how long that’ll last????

As nice as it is to be back in Sorrento, coming home is never easy for me. Constant reminders of how different my life is to those I cherish, seems to push me further away from them, rather than bring us closer. It makes me sad and lonely to think that maybe the day will come where we no longer have anything in common. As it is, my life seems to come last in the conversation and when it is mentioned, only fleetingly do I sense anyone values what it is I’m saying. I have to swallow hard and remember that it’s my happiness I need to focus on, nothing else. I realise this is my perception and life continues no matter where you are. I just can’t help that feeling of getting left further and further behind every time I come home.

So, Derby life is officially over for 2011. I’ll be back in 2012 and I hope it is just as fun and exciting as the first time around. I have made some wonderful friends and seen many, many amazing sights along the way. My Derby life is everything I could have asked for and more. Next year will present new challenges but hopefully many moments of joy too. I have learnt so much about my state and what it means to belong to a small community. I understand much more intensely the bonds that connect people to their land. My perception about freedom has changed both professionally and outside of work. I am such a lucky person, in so many ways.

I’m not sure if I will keep writing blogs next year, but it has been great for me to have a forever lasting journal of my first year in the Kimberly. Thanks for reading. May you all have a great Christmas and a safe and splendid 2012!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb