48 hours left :-(


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 1st 2011
Published: December 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Surprisingly, I woke up today minus the hangover I'd been expecting, and some would say, deserving. I've got to drive back to Perth at some stage so it's probably a good thing that I've escaped without too much damage. Last night was a lot of fun, and it seems like I got here only yesterday, the time has flown so quickly. Pretty much the story of my last two months!

Now I've just got less than 48 hours until I leave Perth. No more delaying the flight, it's time to go to Cairns. I'm looking forward to going somewhere new that I've never been to before, but will be really sad to leave WA. If you've never been here before, you should. It's that straightforward. The place is so chilled out, relaxed, with the most stunning beaches and lovely people. Houses are massive (on the whole) because there's enough land to make sure of it. The beaches are uncrowded, the sand white, the sea the most vibrant of blues, and the coastline breathtaking. I'd live here in an instant - you couldn't fail to be miserable with the backdrop to the city being such an amazing coast.

I started my day with a trip further south to Augusta and to the Cape Leeuwin lighthouse, which is the point at which the Southern and Indian Oceans meet, and a historic point for maritime in the region. The drive to the lighthouse itself was beautiful, although I had a sense that I may have driven past either a sewage treatment plant or a kangaroo latrine. The fragrance in the air was less than floral. Next time - windows up, aircon and admire the view from behind glass! I also saw an ancient water wheel that used to pump fresh spring water directly to the lighthouse for the keepers. Amazingly preserved and spring water still flowing down the wooden trough to the wheel to this day (despite the wheel being very much seized up).

I drove from here up through the Margaret River area again,and through the Leeuwin National Park. It was stunning - a forest full of the same trees, all about 40ft tall towering over you. I imagine at night it's a bit creepy, but in the daytime, it was almost hypnotic, staring at immaculate row after row of tree bark as far back as the eye could see. The fires fortunately avoided here. Further along Caves Road I went, which takes you past the historic caves of the area. They all sounded lovely but I chose not to stop - with Wookey on your doorstep, what more can you ask for?! Just past Dunsborough I headed back to Eagle Bay where I had seen the beautiful beach a couple of days ago and chose to stop for a couple of hours for some sunbathing. It was pushing 34 degrees so it was definitely called for!

The beach stretches for miles yet I was the only one within a 200yard radius. Just me, myself and my packed lunch (hot bread and hot dips - not planned that way but achieved due to the boiling temperatures inside the i20 and my reluctance to 'waste' fuel on aircon). The sea was like ice but undeterred, I sat half in the water, half on the beach, letting the waves lap at my legs and taking in my surroundings. I really am one lucky thing to be here and I need to start remembering that more. The shark helicopter was circling, patrolling the waters, before flying off so I took that as a green light to go for a swim. Turns out I read the signals correctly as I still appear to have all my limbs intact.

After lunch, I continued to drive back towards Perth, through Bussleton, Capel, Bunbury, bypassing Mandurah and Fremantle, and then bypassing Perth itself as I'd arrived back too early to head to Lindsey's (she was still at work). Back at Joondalup and the house was like a ghost town - not a car or person in sight. Bad news. No one home anywhere!

I took myself off for dinner to kill some time and then headed back to Perth city to deliver Lindsey's wine. Said our goodbyes and wished her a lot of luck before she heads off to climb Everest (or part way at least) in Dec/Jan. An amazing challenge and raising money for a great charity that helps wounded servicemen and their families. A much more rewarding way to spend New Year than mine watching the fireworks in Sydney, very humbling, even if I know I could never do what she is doing.

Back to Joondalup and everyone's back home! Last night before I go tomorrow and I'm sad that I probably won't get to see the rest of the Perth lot (Dan, Rudy etc) before I go. I can only hope that the plans for Mel's 30th come good - have I mentioned I might do a quick hop back to Asia in January?! All for a good cause, of course....who cares about the money, you only live once! x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb