Last day in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 10th 2010
Published: December 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This week has been extremely busy, I started the week with a 9 hour shift at work. Cooking in a hot kitchen for 9 hours isn't exactly what I would call an easy day at work but it was suprisingly fun - apart from the endless amount of meatballs I had to make and cook (thank fully not on my own but if I never see another italian meatball it will be too soon!) But after a knackering day I earned $180 which I would definitely say is worth it.
The next day I went to Rottnest Island with Erica and Eric; we hired bikes and cycled around the island which was so fun. It rained once which was suprisingly refreshing and then was boiling for the rest of the day - the tops of my hands got sun burnt which is something I have never experience! I must say I am very proud of my tan, it is much better than my usual pathetic excuse of a tan after sunbathing. On the island there are these animals called Quokkas, basically a mix between and mini kangaroo/Wallabee, a hamster and a rat (the rat part is the tail) they are so ridculously cute and I struggled not to slip one in my bag and take it home with me. We first saw a mum and a baby when we were cycling past a bush. Now I assumed, as they are wild animals, that they would be really timid and would run away if you came too close. But oh no...we walked as close as we thought we could and then they actually came up to us - I could even stroke it and it touched my hand with its nose...soooo cute! As we continued cycling around the island we saw a few more; one was by the food shop picking up all the bits of food that had been dropped, it wasn't even phased by the load of people sitting and standing around. So I would have to say that the visit to Rottnest Island was pretty much one of my favourite days so far.
Thankfully the next day was a bit calmer, I went shopping in the morning with Erica, although I couldn't actually buy anything due to my bag already being jammed full! But I am a fan of window shopping so it's all good - and Erica and I then went to Miss Maud's, a Swedish cafe, where I ate Princess cake (this is only relevent to Swedish people) which was really good - but of course you can't beat the Princess cake in Sweden! It was so nice to sit in this cafe with all the Swedish decoration and the waitresses wearing traditional Swedish clothes - I felt very at home! So after a spot of shopping I went to the cinema with India - my cousins daughter - and Melissa - Indias best friend. We went to see Harry Potter which was AWESOME! I loved it, but then again I do love Harry Potter so there wasn't much chance of me not liking the movie.
Yesterday I went to Penguin Island with Erica and Eric, it's a tiny little Island which is the home of something like 2000 fairy penguins. We caught a ferry over but you can actually wade through the water to the island from the main land but it was way to choppy in the water and I think being swept away would have put a downer on my whole experience in Australia. We started the visit in this little shack where they feed some of the penguins. It was ridiculously sweet! The woman feeding them fed them one by one, some by hand and some by throwing the fish into the water. We then went looking for penguins in the wild and finally we found some under some rocks - they are nocternal so we had to look in the dark places. It was pretty cool, they just stood there in a huddle ocassionally looking up at us when we took pictures. So after a really nice day I went to meet Olive in Northbridge for dinner (along with Eric and Tony) we went to this restaurant/bar place where they had a live band which was really nice. It was lovely to see Olive before I left - feels very wierd to think I won't see her or any of my family for such a long time.
So today is my last day in Perth, my flight leaves at midnight tonight which is actually pretty good as I have the whole day here so I don't need to stress too much! I have nearly finished packing and I have managed to fit everything in...yay! I am very excited about going to Hong Kong and about going home but I am also so sad about leaving, I've had such a lovely time (mostly) and it will be really hard to leave everyone. But anyway, I still have some things I need to sort out before I leave; I will hopefully write another blog when I am in Hong Kong, if I can get to a computer! See you soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb