My first week


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
October 26th 2010
Published: October 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I am finally writing another blog! I've been in Perth for exactly a week and - although being slightly homesick once or twice - I am having a great time. So far I have been shopping, up to Kings park at night - there are the most amazing views of the city all lit up - We've been verge collecting (basically everyone puts all the stuff they dont want any more on the street outside there house and then everyone else can go around and take what they want, whatever's left over is taken to the dump by the council or something...it sounds bad but actually you can sometimes find some really good stuff, TV's, jewellery, electrical appliances etc.) we also went to the beach but because it was so windy we didn't stay long, we went for a drive instead where we saw a load of kangeroos which was extremely cool! I went out with Nicole on Sunday to a 'Sunday session' - which is basically where everyone goes after they've been at the beach for drinks and to listen to music. It was really fun - would never have believed it was a Sunday... Yesterday I joined a free job agency for backpackers so hopefully I should have a job pretty soon (have to go and see them too at some point) Plans for the, hopefully, near future, visit Penguin Island, swim with dolphins, go to a beach for a whole day, have a proper Aussie BBQ... and other stuff of course. I have also driven - a pick up truck... It wasn't too bad, not he smoothest ride should I say; and I have relly learnt how insane Perth drivers are - I was waiting at some lights and there was quite a long cue in front of me so the guy behind couldn't get into the right turn lane... he started beeping at me and I of course could go nowhere so he went onto the pavement and hit the back of my car!!!! Now that was a bit of a shock for my first time driving in Australia...in a pick up truck! Anyway, wish me luck with finding a job and attempting to drive again! Goodbye everyone, Anna.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb