Australia - Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 22nd 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

PERTH

Thursday 13th May
I was up at 5.45am to catch my flight to Perth. I was at the bus stop at 6.20am!!! I hate getting up early. I got to the airport and as I'd already checked in just needed to drop my bags off. But caused a bit of an incident....the guy asked me if I had any aerosols and the only thing I had was the can of bug spray (i.e. killer) Caryl and I had got in Cape Tribulation. I told him it was bug spray and he said that was fine if you can spray it on yourself. I walked away and was just about to go through security when I thought about it; I don't think you can spray that sort of stuff on yourself. So I had to go back and ask him and as it's 'flammable' it can't go on the plane. So they had to call my bags back (which was actually quite easy, it didn't take long) and I had to take it out. I gave it to the lady that was helping me. Then when I was going through security I got called over by this very stern looking man who didn't smile and just handed me something to read. I read it and it was telling me I was about to be tested for explosives, and that if anything is found on my clothes or bags a more detailed search could be carried out so did I want to go into a private room! I declined that, spent a few minutes getting a cotton wool type thing wipes over me that the guy then put in a machine and then as I was obviously not covered in explosives he let me on my way, finally smiling. I then spent a while on the phone to Drew who was updating me on things at home, bit worrying, lots of love to Mike and Hev and Fergus and everyone. It'll all be OK and get well soon Mike  Then I got on the place, with my Diazepam ready as I was feeling a bit stressed. It was all cool though, didn't need the tablets. I got chatting to the girl next to me who was a Sikh, had been born and brought up in Australia so was very Western (in talk and dress etc). It was a difficult conversation as she started telling me how her family were making her go to India on the 17th for an arranged marriage, which she doesn't want as she's never met the guy (she has to choose him from a selection when she is there) and is in love with someone else who is in Perth. He is a Sikh too but her family just won't hear of it. She was a bit stressed. I really felt for her. She was only 23 and quite immature and childlike. I don't understand the culture so couldn't really offer much help. Luckily her brother is very supportive and she hopes he is going to sort it all out in the next couple of days. She stayed with me right until when I got the bus stop (she was waiting for her boyfriend to pick her up, her family didn't know that, I think she was hoping I'd get to meet him) and I really felt like giving her a hug. I will think of her on the 17th. I got on the bus to the City and didn't really know where I was going (my planning time had been taken up with her) but luckily a German girl on the bus was also going to the Perth YHA so could direct me. The bus journey from the airport was a bit crazy; there were all the people from flights on the bus together with loads of locals. There just wasn't enough room for everyone and their bags and little old ladies had to stand and were being bumped around everywhere. When we eventually got to the hostel I was relieved. I chose it because I'd had a nice time at the Adelaide hostel and because Maff and Andy Farrell and recommended it to me. And it was nice, I like it. I'm in a room with a Japanese girl of 31 who is trying to find work here. Bless her, another English pupil. She keeps asking me this and that and asking me to say words the English way as the little computer she has says it American! I went for a walk round the city, which is nice. There are good shops but I couldn’t find the type of handbag I want! I will have to keep looking. It was so so cold though, really really bitter. I went back to the hostel and spent the evening doing nice quiet things, like reading my book at went to bed at 10 as I wasn't feeling too great (had woken up the day before with a cold and it was catching up on me).

Friday 14th May
I woke up at 5am to the sound of train horns. OMG. I'd heard them yesterday as the train station is just down the road and the track just outside my window but Ira (the Japanese girl) had said they stopped at midnight so I thought I'd be OK. She didn't say they started at 5am!!! It was HORRIBLE, half asleep, just waiting for the next one. It started with a tick tick of the signal, then the screeching of brakes then the horn, every couple of minutes!! Why do they have to sound their horns at 5am?!! I tried earplugs, pillows, fingers but could still hear. I must have eventually fallen asleep though as I woke up again at 9 feeling quite rested. I read a bit then actually went RUNNING!! I put my kit on, started walking then ran! It was really nice. Quite hot, not cold and it was sunny. I went around Northridge and was gone an hour then did some exercise in my room. Northbridge was lovely, will have to go for a normal walk through there so I can take some photos. I felt quite proud of myself. I then had a good shower and sort and booked the boat to Rottnest Island for Sunday. And then I went out for another look around the rest of the city centre. I wandered along and came across some brass (or made from something like that) Kangaroos. They were quite funny. I waited for a couple to move out of the way so I could get a clear photo and they asked me if I wanted a photo of myself. I didn't really but thought it'd be impolite to decline so did, and am glad I did as it's not too bad! It turns out they were English from Portsmouth who were in Perth visiting family. We had a good chat about politics and recent events and the terrible exchange rate for the British travelling in Australia (and I guess anywhere) at the minute. I then walked through the Supreme Court gardens where there were more marigolds and down to the river which was nice. There was a good view of the high rise central business district. I stumbled across the Lucky Shag bar which Maff had told me to go to every day for a drink, it was lucky really as I'd got that confused with Little Creatures in Freemantle. I got myself a Magners and sat out on the deck watching the river texting Maff, making him jealous. It was a bit chilly but I was looking out for dolphins. After about half an hour two guys asked if they could perch on the other side of my table, turns out they were Irish from Cork. Des, John and I had a lovely couple of hours, chatting and drinking more Magners. They walked me home at 8pm a bit tipsy (sorry Dad…!) I got myself some chips and samosas from the bar (even Ira had noticed I wasn't my normal self and suggested some food as I hadn’t eaten anything!) and then went to bed (at 9pm!).

Saturday 15th May
I woke up at 1am with a hangover, not good, so I drank loads of water, took some tablets and went back to sleep. I woke up again at 5 to the sound of the trains, lovely. Then went back to sleep and woke up again at 9, feeling better but to be honest did not feel 100% all day! I got ready to go out and did some hand washing then went out for a nice omelette that made me feel better. Then I went in search of a chemist as needed some more asthma stuff. Then I got on a train to Freemantle. I had a bit of a mishap when I bought a concession ticket, apparently my International Student Identity Card is not accepted in Western Australia (it’s confusing as every place has its own rules). The guy was really nice though and more interested in finding out about England so he let me through. I was so paranoid about being found out though that I got off at another stop so I could buy a new ticket. Ended up at a Croissante Express which Maff had told me was on a corner somewhere and I should try the baguettes, which I did, it was very nice. I arrived in Freemantle after the best public transport journey I've ever had, the view from the train was out over the Indian Ocean, you don't get anything like that on the London Underground! It was warm in Freemantle and I headed for the Military Museum as you could get a tour of a submarine and I've always wanted to go on a submarine. But when I got there the tours had just been filled, they tried to see if I could catch up with one but they were too far along. I tried not to be too disappointed as it saved me $15 and I went in search of a handbag, which is not easy. I saw plenty of very nice handbags, just not practical ones for travel (I like them that go over the shoulder, with a zip top with a flap over and plenty of pockets. As I've not been able to find a new style one I've been looking for my same Kangol one but apparently they don't sell Kangol in Australia. I assumed it was an Australian brand as it has a kangaroo no the label but no, apparently it's a British brand. So, in the end I had to get a Billabong one which is nice and has a zip at the top and plenty of pockets but no flaps. I should have just listened to my Dad and come away with the one he got me, as I'm sure it would have lasted longer  Freemantle was a lovely place, a big variety of shops, some high street names and some individual shops. It was nice looking around the little streets whilst I was going in search of 'Little Creatures' which I'd heard a lot about. I found it and it's a micro brewery with a pub in it it. I should have had house brewed ale but couldn't face it so had diet coke and chips. Was nice looking out over the harbour people watching. It was a busy place, with lots of young uns drinking bottles of wine and beer in the sun. I then headed back through the town and to the train from which I had another amazing view of the Ocean. I wanted to take photos but didn't want to look too random; I got one awful one just so I could remember what it was like. It was lovely, watching the sun setting over the Ocean from the tram. Once back in Perth I went straight to the hostel and spent more time sorting out (always something to sort about what doing next) and reading because I'm addicted to my book. I'd been invited out by the Irish lads but couldn't face it, still not feeling too good after the Magners.

Sunday 15th May
I was not woken up at 5am by a train which was an exciting development! I was woken up at 7.30 and as I was so into my book I read for far too long before getting up to get ready for my boat to Rottnest Island. It was a bit hard to know what to take, due to the unpredictability of the weather. Anyway, I got to the boat on time and had a nice cruise with Captain Cook cruises down the Swan River, with a running commentary that I wasn't expecting (the guy sounded just like the guy Caryl and I had on our boat in Milford Sound. I was starting to think it really was pre-recorded until he made a mistake, they must just all sound the same) which was welcome as I learned a bit. For example, Perth is definitely named after the town in Scotland. And the Swan River has the most expensive 'shire' (not 100% sure what a shire is, but it's what he said) in Australia on its banks (where there is a whole complex of houses belonging to the Kluff engineering family) as well as Australia's most expensive house (sold for $57 million dollars last year). And a bit of the River is named 'after the Thames in England'. It was a nice ride; I sat outside on the deck. I'd expected it to be too cold and windy but it was actually quite warm and we got a good view of the city. At Freemantle we transferred onto a faster boat for the crossing over to Rottnest Island. That was quite exciting as it did go really fast and the splashes were all over the place, the back of my head kept getting sprayed and everyone kept going ‘ooohhh’ and ‘aaahh’ found it very exciting. We arrived at Rottnest to really hot sunshine. The Island is called Rottnest because......when the Dutch found it they also found the Quokkas which they thought were huge rats so they called it Rott's Nest as in Rat's Nest. It is so so beautiful, and the Quokkas don't really look like rats. I think they're more like wallabies (you see a lot of them; they are not frightened of us at all). The Island is beautiful, can't believe it's only an hour from a city like Perth (not that Perth is not a nice city, it's still a city though). There are no cars, just vans for transporting stuff, buses and a train. The Island has a sad past as it was used to house Aboriginal and WWI prisoners but it is doing a lot to try and right its wrongs at the moment. The roads are tiny, some are just sand and I had a lovely day cycling all over the place to little bays and coved with sand dunes next to them and crystal clear water. I can see how it'd be lovely to snorkel and swim in the summer. It was hot, but still a bit cold for me to brave that on my own. It reminded me of Sark and Herm in the Channel Islands. In addition to the beautiful water in the bays, there were inland lakes which were also beautiful, pinky in colour due to the high concentration of salt and surrounded by reddy pink bushes. It got hotter and hotter as the day went on (I must have looked lovely in my helmet) and I had to cover myself in sun cream and roll up my tights (I was wearing a skirt so wouldn't have been decent to take them off). I headed inland for a while and it got hilly, it was hard work! (Louli - just kept thinking of you shouting at me in biking to keep me going!) I only had to get off once though to push the bike, and that was because I didn't trust the gears and the chain kept slipping so could have had an accident if that'd happened whilst I was standing up! I went right up to the high point, not sure how I got up there on my bike really. That gave amazing views, of the Island and of the high rises of Perth in the distance. It was lovely, most of the time I was completely on my own in the idyllic countryside. With just some beautiful birds for company, and the Quokkas. I got a bit freaked at times though as I realised I was totally on my own with no help near if needed but then I had to get up another hill so I forgot about it. I only had one mishap, where the straps from my rucksack got all tangled together. I didn't fall off though which was a positive. As I was a bit shaky to start with (it's a long time since I've been on a proper bike ride) I was expecting to fall off. I headed back to the harbour settlement in plenty of time, as didn't want to miss the boat back and had a nice late lunch of Pumpkin Risotto. That was a bit embarrassing though as I came in looking a bedraggled mess and all the people working there were male and very good looking. As I walked in I developed a really bad cough and they had to offer me water and all sorts so they must have thought I was a crazy English girl. The boat ride back was lovely. I had some trouble with the toilets though, first off going in the men's and having to be told by some Boy Scouts I was in the wrong place and second time being in there when the lights went out so it was pitch black! Anyway it was nice because I chilled out and watched the sunset. We were offered free wine tasting but I declined (you'd have been proud Dad!) The sunset was wonderful, so so beautiful and it lit the sky up behind Perth all pink. When we got in I headed for a quick Diet Coke (no alcohol again!) in the Lucky Shag, as I'd been told I had to go there every day by Maff. And then to meet Des (one of the Irish lads) for a bit of dinner. And then it was all back to being glamorous doing my washing and packing ready to leave Perth the next morning at 5.45am on my 5 day trip to the South West of Australia (Albany, Esperance, Margaret River and the like).

I like Perth and don't think I did enough in my 4 days, so am going to try and extend my stay when I come back so I have another 3 days. That'll be cool as well as Nienke should be here and we can have fun, it's been a bit quiet on my own.

Lots of love Xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb