Taking the plunge, my early thoughts.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 10th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SO....we just decided to take the plunge!

While we wait for my state sponsored subclass 176 visa to be processed, Verlie and I are going to wwoof and backpack around Australia. Hoping to meet new people, make new friends, live a healthy outdoor lifestyle, and really get to know this amazing country. For those who don't know what wwoofing is see: www.wwoof.com.au

We plan to arrive in Perth on 15th May 2010. We are currently de cluttering and selling off all of our possesions!

Any advice hints or tips from other wwoofers greatly appreciated. We hope to buy a cheap ish station wagon to get around in.

As it sit here typing this at work on a cold rainy North London night a couple of weeks before Christmas 2009, I am wondering how these pages will look in 2 years time, what tales of happiness, adventure and (inevitably but hopefully not too much) sadness they will hold. Will we remember this feeling of excitement, trepidation and relief that we both have right now. I hope so......although with my memory, you never can tell!

All I know it feels as if a weight has been lifted from our shoulders, we have a huge light at the end our tunnel.

We have not yet told family and friends of our plans, and I hope that when they read this back in a few weeks time, they will understand in these very early stages we couldn't say too much.

I just realised that I will be away in a foreign land when England go to South Africa and bring the world cup home, and as much as I can't wait to get away and start the rest of our lives in Australia, part of me is a little bit sad that come world cup final day, I will not be surrounded by family, friends and fellow Englishmen. Hopefully I will find an English pub somewhere, and we can show the Aussies how to drink and celebrate!

I am about to email Verlie a link to this blog, and I am very sure that she will have something to add herself, as she will be up half the night, she never sleeps well when I am on nights.

So thats It for now, my first blog entry....EVER. The first of many I hope

Mark

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb